Jump to content
SFG Forums Closing On March 11th 2019 Read more... ×
Clement

"hitting" with a character play and gb playbook results

Recommended Posts

Couldn't find anything current on this.

If I hit with an attack from a model and select the guild ball playbook result, assuming the selected result is something like Eye Spy or Deadbolt that actually targets, would it trip traits that hinge on "hitting an enemy model with a character play" like Stormwind and Momentous Inspiration?

Or because there's no actual rolling of dice, it doesn't count as hitting for those purposes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Character plays triggered off of playbook results automatically hit.  They trigger traits like Stormwind, Momentous Inspiration and Glutenous Mass Resilience.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to this: 

 the opposite is true. Did it change in S4?

 

Quote

No. Momentous inspiration requires a successful hit from the character play. A successful hit from a character play requires a TN test for the character play. Character plays triggered from the playbook do not have TN tests.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Celary That ruling has been made in s3, when Momentous Inspiration has been worded differently: it required generating one or more successful hits with a CP.

Now it only requires to hit an enemy, along the lines with other abilities like that. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Season 4 Rulebook, Pg 20:

3. If a TN test isn’t required, then 
the character play is automatically 
successful and the target is hit.

 

Character Plays from Character Play playbook results that target a model hit them automatically and trigger any effects that rely upon a hit.

(The season 3 ruling for Momentous Inspiration is no longer valid and should be ignored)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does this also mean that using (for example) Hearne's CP's from the playbook while under the effects of Sun Strike would give you 2 MOM? (1 from :momGB:/:momGBGB: and 1 from Sun Strike)

We had ruled not, as we saw a succesfull hit as one that needed a TN test and not an automatic hit.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The wording on Sun Strike did change, which led to a change in our interpretation. 

But  thank you for the clarification!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×