Rammer

S4 Captain Choices

Hello everyone, 

Brand new player here! I just started playing Guild Ball about a month ago and have been having a blast playing the Fish! I went to my first tournament on Saturday and went 2-1. As I was drafting in the tournament though, I was curious on if I was playing the correct matchups versus each of the guilds. Keeping that in mind, with Season 4 being new, it is hard to see which information online is still accurate after the changes. Given this, would you guys be able to give me any clues on the matchups against any of the other guilds? Some of this may come down to style, but I would like to know a bit more of everyone's opinion and experiences so far. Is there any guilds that you refuse to play either Shark or Corsair into because of the difficulty of a matchup that can happen?

Thanks for the help!

Hey there! Always good to lure another player to the salty depths :D

I've played a decent amount of Fish in Season 4 and I can give you my opinions on match ups, but take them with a grain of...Salt I guess.

• Alchs: Corsair
    • I haven't played this yet, but I've played Alchs a bit and it feels like the match up likely hasn't changed much. Alchs want to grind and keep their range, so you want the captain that can deny that. Now you're looking for more of a 2 goals, 2 take out approach, but the overall flow of the game should be pretty similar. I'd run
    • Line up: Corsair, Mascot (Salt if kicking, Tentacles if receiving if you fit them both into the 12), Kraken, Hag, Fathom, vSakana/Greyscales
  • Blacksmiths: Shark
    • I think either captain is fine here, but I prefer Shark since the Smiths threaten high end damage that can, to a degree, get around Tough Hide. Meanwhile, they aren't particularly good at killing the ball, opening the door to a 3 goal approach, though Shark can absolutely chew threw some of those squishy apprentices in the right situation.