Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hopefully simple questions but my LGS wasn't sure so I wanted to get the official take on these.

Fallow engages Shark, then Grange engages shark and buys an attack.  Can Shark buy a counter attack?

Relevant Rules:
Wording on counter attack:
"After the active model resolves their attack, the target model may then make an attack against the origin model, if able."
Key words: if able

 
Also, note the phrasing of "make an Attack"
Fallow says "While an enemy model is engaging this model, the enemy model cannot declare an Attack against any other friendly model"
 
The second Question:
When Veteran Honour uses Surpassing strategy, if she rips up 3 harvest markers does all 3 influence have to go on the same model or can it be distrubted between multiple models such as 2 influence on Windel and 1 Influence on peck?
 
Thank in advance!
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Shark can make a Counter Attack. A Counter-Attack is not an Attack, they are different actions

2. All the influence can be allocated to different models if you wish.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Outcomes above are correct,  but note that a counter attack is an attack,  but the distinction here is "declare". Declaring a counter attack results in an attack (if able) but it is not declaring an attack, which is the restriction on Fallow's card. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I appreciate the answers.

The point of contention locally was the 'if able' wording.
Since they would NOT be able to 'make an attack against the origin model' they would not qualify for a counter.  

Basically the since they aren't able to declare an attack against (in the example Grange) they do not qualify to declare a counter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They can make an attack against another model than Fallow, they just can’t declare one. Which they aren’t, as they’re declaring a counterattack. It’s a small distinction, but important :)

The “if able” wording on a counterattack is there because if you’ve been :KD: or pushed/dodged out of range, you can’t make the attack. You’ve still spent the MP and declared the counterattack (which you do when the initial attack is declared of course), but that’s no guarantee you’ll get to make the actual attack itself

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×