Sign in to follow this  
Malritch

Tournament? Oh... I'm not ready for that!

"Tournament? Oh... I'm not ready for that! I can’t to go to that "XYZ" tournament until I’m better."

I hear it quite often, perhaps you do as well. Newcomers don't think they should come to local ones, Locals don't think they should go to Regional ones, or National ones... or whatever.

(Opinion)

I am unconvinced....I call Bull&*$#. You can…and you should. Get out of the basement…and come hang with us!

Plain and simple, you don’t get better unless you challenge yourself and get playing others… even if they kick the crap out of you. You will learn things if you are paying attention and, if you approach it correctly, you will laugh and make a pile of new friends. Isn’t this sort of the point? To enjoy yourself socially?

I’ve been playing outside of my kitchen table for roughly 9 months now … was nervous as can be to begin… but threw caution to the wind…and you know what? No one has laughed at my mistakes or obvious lack of experience. I have been shut out and shut down but never, pardon my language, shit on. Not once. Not even a little bit. If you have… then that guy/gal… doesn’t even deserve to be playing this great game of Guild Ball with the rest of us. In my limited experience I think it is definitely the FEAR of possibly coming across one of “those” players that holds players back from joining us on the tournament tables.

SO…on that note…

Open arms, warmth, and creating a positive personal experience for the player across the table from you, in my opinion, should be your number one priority any time you get to the table to play. Yes, even if they are a salty, crusty, you-know-what. Don't go down to their level.

Why?

Simple. It’s going to grow the game and guarantee you have people to play with tomorrow, and the next day, and the day after that.

“Hey there you Old, Grey Haired, One-Legged, Canadian, preachy Pundit… I’m here to win at all costs!”