Jump to content
Lumpyseven

Playbook timing results - Seenah Bear Hugs and VMinx Traps

Recommended Posts

Hey chaps,

 

Theoretical situation - Seenah charges a model that has 6 hp left and is within 1" of VMinx's trap.

Seenah wraps and picks a push (triggering the trap for 2 damage) and a momentous bear hug for 4 damage.

If you resolve the push first, does the damage from the trap trigger BEFORE the bear hug to enable the 3 VP takeout?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I personally would rule it that way...so let's hope the lawyers side with us. :P  If you choose the push result first...then that damage is applied first in my mind... and then the Bear Hug damage... resulting in the extra VP.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wouldn't this fall under the; ""Any effects and abilities that trigger at the same timing step may be resolved in any order the Controlling Player chooses." rule that is commonly found here?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Playbook results are resolved in the order of the attacking player.  In this case, pushing first would allow for the damage from the trap to be dealt before the damage from Bear Hug.  Since the enemy model has been reduced to 0 hp at the end of the resolution of Bear Hug, the Hunters player is entitled to the bonus VP.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correctly answered.  The resolution of Bear Hug follows the sequence of a Character Play, which includes its own "check for taken out", separate from the check for taken out in the Attack sequence.

 

Resolving the push first would trigger the trap damage, and then the Bear Hug would inflict damage and a check for taken out (and an additional VP). Performing the Bear Hug first would not result in the model being taken out by Bear Hug.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×