Sign in to follow this  
Beric

Which Kat?

I have played a few games with the Midas box and yesterday I got the rest of the team. I think I understand the role of every player, except for vetKat. I think both Katalyst versions are interesting, but I feel that the original is a bit better. And what I really fail to understand is how they could perform different in the field. Without having played vetKat yet, I have the feeling that both are intenchangeable. Against which teams/strategys do you use one or the other?

I'm just starting out with Midas 6 (so far have been dropping Mercury for Mist because I like scoring goals). I've been scratching my head over the Kats as well. I think they are totally different pieces with totally different risk/reward balances.

For me, the utility of oKat has been his very easy KD, T, and pushes to get the ball and break up scrums. With bonus time he can pass. Using him to get Vitriol's dodge T1 is nice too. He is not a heavy damage dealer, but he is reliable and a very solid striker support. He'll go in and do something useful against pretty much any model, but probably nothing too spectacular.

What I can make out so far is that vKat is dependent on his target suffering conditions in order to get high damage output (and get a Witness Me takeout), and he can't deal out conditions himself. So you'd want to play him in a lineup with plenty of condition dealers and AOE throwers, and probably Smoke to duplicate and shift them around to make sure everyone is burning/poisoned. Tough hide will neuter vKat, and he's going to struggle against models that can clear conditions for free. With KD and T on columns 4-5 and abysmal kick stats he doesn't perform the support role that oKat does. His terrible defense also means you need to be wary of your opponent farming him and bouncing strikers off him - you need to pick his targets carefully, but if the setup is in place he's going to delete a model for 4VP (and give away 2VP).