Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Henry

A Guide - measuring for effects

Recommended Posts

Hi everyone, 

One of the most common questions we see in the rules forum is for an understanding of when to take a measurement for the various components of a play or trait. In this quick guide we hope to aid everyone’s understanding of this important, yet potentially tricky, element of the game. 

We’re going to look at the three most common times when you will need to measure for a play or trait: 

1)When targeting 

2)When resolving an effect 

3)When triggered 

 

 

When targeting:

Many plays and traits contain “target friendly/enemy/named/etc.” Along with paying costs, when a player uses a play or trait choosing a target is the first part of resolving that ability. As such, any measurements for targeting are part of this first step in resolving the ability. This is most important for plays triggered by playbook play-icon results as this means the player does not have to choose a target, or measure and check line of sight for the target when the play is triggered. The decision on what to target doesn't happen until the play is chosen to resolve. If you have been lucky enough to wrap your playbook with an attack you may have the opportunity to resolve push and dodge results before you resolve a play-icon result, opening up new targets for your plays. 

 

 

When resolving an effect:

After targeting, most of the effects of a play or trait will have ranges that are measured when that specific effect is resolved. In the case of an ability with multiple effects, resolving one effect may change the position of models, affecting the measurements for subsequent effects. When an effect specifies a range, always take your measurement from the point when you choose to resolve that effect. 

Attention must be made when resolving pulses. A pulse affects every model in range when it is triggered and has no duration. This means that when a pulse effect is chosen to be resolved, players must measure to determine which models are affected by the pulse before any of the pulse effects are resolved. If a player uses one effect of a pulse to reposition models this does not change which models are affected by subsequent effects of that same pulse - the measurement to determine which models are affected by a pulse has already been made. 

 

 

When triggered:

Many plays and traits do not have an effect until the circumstances of the game meet the play or trait’s criteria. When the circumstances are right the ability has been triggered. While players may choose to take measurements at any point to confirm whether an ability is within range or not, all of the criteria for triggering an ability must be met at the same time for that ability to trigger. Players must take note of the wording of an ability to determine whether a distance specified in the wording is a part of the trigger or a part of resolving the effect.

When an ability has been triggered it stays triggered and will be resolved. The controlling player may choose to resolve simultaneous effects in any order they choose, but the movement of game pieces will not cause an ability that has triggered to become “un-triggered”. 

 

 

 

Let’s take a look at a few examples: 

 

  • Gutter is engaged with Brick. Honour stands a little behind Brick, out of Gutters melee range and using Brick’s larger base to block Gutters line of sight to her. Gutter would like to bring Honour into her melee range so that she can hit both Brick and Honour with Scything Blow. Gutter attacks Brick and manages to score 7 net-hits, generating a wrap of her playbook. She chooses the 1” push from her second column and the GB play-icon from her fifth column. She chooses to resolve the push first, nudging Brick aside and giving her line of sight to Honour. When she chooses to resolve her second result, the play-icon, she can choose a play to trigger and she triggers Chain Grab. As the first part of resolving the play she chooses a target. Honour is a valid target at this point as she is now within line of sight and range, and gets dragged into Gutters melee range. It’s not looking good for the Masons. 

 

  • Hag finds herself in a scrum in the middle of the pitch and wants to escape. She is surrounded by two friendly Fishermen and two enemy players. To aid her escape she uses her legendary, Call of the Sea. This play has three effects that are all based upon models being within the pulse. The first thing she does is determine who is within the pulse. This is herself, the two friendly and two enemy players. She may now resolve the simultaneous effects of the pulse in any order she chooses, repositioning the other models and taking damage to herself. In this case there were four other models within the pulse when it was triggered. For the purpose of calculating how much damage Hag takes it does not matter in what order she resolves the repositions or what the distance between Hag and the other models is when she chooses to resolve the damage effect - Hag will suffer 4 damage. 

 

  • Katalyst is engaged with Decimate. The next nearest model is Snakeskin who is 6” directly behind Decimate. Katalyst uses the last influence of his activation to declare an attack upon Decimate. He scores five net-hits and chooses the double GB result from the fifth column. He triggers the play External Combustion. This play has three effects - it causes damage to the target, it pushes the target and it causes a pulse centred on the target. Katalyst chooses to resolve the damage to Decimate first. Then he chooses to resolve the push, pushing Decimate 4” directly away. Then he chooses to resolve the pulse. As effects are measured at the time they are resolved, the pulse is measured from Decimate’s current position, causing both herself and Snakeskin to suffer burning. 

 

  • Brick, Marbles and Tower are all stood within 2” of each other. Tower has already activated this turn and has used his heroic play Protect Those Close, giving Sturdy to himself and the two other Masons. Stave throws a Lob Barrel at a point in the centre of the three Masons. He chooses to resolve the pushes first, pushing all three Masons so that they are over 4” from each other. Brick and Marbles are no longer within the aura of Tower’s heroic, so can not gain the benefit of sturdy when Stave resolves the knocked-down effect upon them. 

 

 

I hope this guide has been of help in understanding when measurements are made to resolve plays and traits. If you would like any further generalised information on this topic then please ask here. If you have specific questions that you would like to see addressed then please post in the rules clarification forum. Finally, if this guide has been of use to you, or if you can think of any other game interactions that could use a guide, then please let us know below. 

 

Cheers, 

Henry

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×