Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
missing1leg

Charging model is knocked down by a counter charge

Recommended Posts

Short version.  If a charging model successfully charges a target but is knocked down by a counter charge, is the charge attack lost even if the original charging model has a momentum to stand back up and is still engaging it's charge target?  

 

My understanding is that since the charge is a single action which incorporates both advance and attack, other actions (in this case Take a Breather but also things like Get Over Here) cannot interrupt those two things so even if they original charging model stood back up, they would not be able to make the already paid for charge attack with the 4 extra dice since they have now made an entirely different action.  After standing up, they would be able to pay for regular (ie non-charge) attacks assuming influence was available.

 

Example.  Iron charges Millstone and ends his advance inside 6" of Tater who has a harvest marker nearby and is unengaged and not engaging Iron.  Tater declares a counter charge and Iron plays Brace for Impact.  Tater gets 3 net hits and chooses a Mow Down result which knocks down Iron.  Iron spends a momentum to clear conditions using the Take a Breather action.  He is still engaging his charge target.  Does he get to make his charge attack with the 4 extra dice (minus one for Tater now)?  If so, why?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since a KD model cannot engage enemies, the charge attack will be lost.

You have ended your advance part of the charge engaging the enemy, so your activation doesn't end immediately. However, at the time of the attack part of the charge your model doesn't engage the target any more. And you are correct that one cannot interrupt the advance and the attack parts of the charge with another action. 

Actually, there's already been a ruling on the matter: 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×