Sign in to follow this  
guild baller

Ballista vs Pin Vice

Hello All,

I'm relatively new to Cogs (been playing them for ~2 months) with mainly PV as my captain. I'm trying out Ballista because from what I hear, he tends to be the better captain but I just don't see it. He is slightly harder to kill, gains MP better with his Momentous Inspiration, and can tackle on 1 (instead of PV tackle on 2, both should be successful regardless of target) but that's it. I don't ever find myself using Minefield or Second Wind. PV is faster, still pretty hard to kill, has close control, and believe it or not can hit harder than Ballista*. My usual line up is Mother, Colossus, Ratchet, Hoist, and Velocity. My usual strategy is 2 goals and 2 take outs but sometimes 3 goals. Is there something I'm missing with him? I have him in the center of the pitch to beat on people and tackle and score if necessary but PV is better at beating on people and is way more dodgy if she wants to go for goal. Any input would help.

*See the charts below. It shows the total damage with Deletion's free Bonus Time taken in her 1st swing (2nd Inf used). As you can see she does more damage output around the 4th INF used and is better against models with higher defense which I feel is most often the case. This also doesn't include Overclocked which Ballista would not be able to use and would by far make Pin Vice the better hitter.

image.png.5e3feea1d14c6507e757ed9b6be914d4.png

image.png.264b3c16a698d1f92417aafc58111a76.png

Ballista is used in many ways. The most common is control and area denial. Whether kicking or receiving, dead bolt shuts down the opponent turn one if it hits. Minefield and Second wind add onto this concept. Momentum is key to heal chip damage and remove conditions, but you need the ball or someone to hit to do this. Ballista makes the engagement impossible or costly beyond worth for the opponent in well planned circumstances.