Sign in to follow this  
DanB

First turn

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Guild ball and while things are starting to click now, I still struggle a bit with deciding how to allocate influence in the first turn, particularly when I'm kicking off. For background, I started with the kick off brewers and lost all my games (~7-8) spectacularly. Recently switched to Masons kick off box (plus Lucky and Mist as options) and found it much more intuitive and actually have won 2/2 with them. In my last one I ran Honour, Marbles, Brick, Flint, Mist, Lucky and it was so much fun!

I realise it's very Guild/strategy specific, but any general pointers would be appreciated.

What do you tend to do T1 with:

1. Kicking football team

2. Kicking violent team

3. Receiving football team (this one's pretty intuitive - pass the ball down the line to generate mom and fer your strikers into position right?)

4. Receiving violent team (I guess hide the ball and move your big hitters up?)

Cheers!

Hey there and welcome to the game.

Here's what I find helps for these questions.

• Who kicks? The guy that I want to move up the board for free. If you're playing a violent squad, then you want the most mobile OR strongest threat up front. If you're playing a goal team, then you want the one who is the most mobile and able to steal a ball and kick a goal.
    Why? Because this puts pressure on the other player to either move cagey up the board (allowing the rest of your team to go in aggressively and claim prime space) or to rush for the ball and risk a pass to hide it somewhere.

I mainly play fish and loathe attrisherman, so I can only help with questions 1 and 3, but here's what I do.