Jump to content

Recommended Posts

From Page 14 of the Season 3 Rulebook (bold added for emphasis):

Target Number Tests

Many actions a model may make are resolved using a target number (TN) test.

Models use their attributes and apply all relevant modifiers to gather a number of six-sided dice (D6), in order to generate a dice-pool.

Each relevant action confers a base number of dice to the dice-pool; action specific modifiers are then applied.  All other applicable modifiers are then applied from Character Traits, Plays and other in-game effects and abilities.  This will provide a total dice-pool for the action.

The target number needed is shown as a number in brackets.

When making a TN test, each individual die rolled in the dice-pool that equals or exceeds the target number generates a successful hit.  Any die that rolls less than the target number is unsuccessful.

Some actions will have modifiers that affect the number of successful hits after the dice-pool has been rolled.

A TN test is successful if it generates at least [1] net-hit.  In many TN tests, additional hits improve the overall result.

 

The character play Clone used by Snakeskin and Vitriol reads:

Clone 2/ S - The next time this model is hit by an enemy Attack or Character Play that targets this model, except while making an Advance, the Attack or Character Play is ignored. This model then makes a [2”] Dodge.

The trait Glutenous Mass reads:

the pulse suffer [3] DMG and the poison condition. Gluttonous Mass The first time each turn this model is hit by an enemy Attack or Character Play that targets this model, except while making an Advance, the Attack or Character Play is ignored.

 

Some character plays like Piledriver, Tutelage and Midas Touch and some Plot cards like Who Are Ya? and Vengeance can grant additional net hits to an attack.

What does it mean for a model to be hit by an attack?  Does it mean that the attack is successful?  Does it mean that some dice in the target number test generated a successful hit?  Based on previous rulings that Clone and Glutenous Mass affect character plays triggered off of playbooks, I'd guess it's the former.

Suppose an attack against a model benefiting from Clone or Glutenous Mass generates no hits; the TN test is not successful.  A token is removed, added net hits to the attack.  Is the attack successful now?  Since it wasn't successful when the dice pool was rolled, does the attack 'hit' and trigger Clone or Glutenous Mass?  Do character plays that grant net-hits behave differently to tokens that grant net-hits?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
54 minutes ago, MechMage said:

What does it mean for a model to be hit by an attack?

One or more net hits is generated after modifiers

55 minutes ago, MechMage said:

Suppose an attack against a model benefiting from Clone or Glutenous Mass generates no hits; the TN test is not successful.  A token is removed, added net hits to the attack.  Is the attack successful now?

A TN test is successful if one or more net hits is generated after modifiers. 

Gluttonous Mass and Clone would both be triggered as the attack has successfully generated net hits. 

 

56 minutes ago, MechMage said:

Do character plays that grant net-hits behave differently to tokens that grant net-hits?

 No. 

 

Character plays generated from the playbook that target a model other than the model attacked are a special case as no net hits are generated on the targeted model, but the model is hit by the Character Play. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, MilitaryCoo said:

They add net hits, which are after all other (existing) modifiers.

So if you roll all 1s, you CAN'T use Vengence, or you CAN?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Determine net-hits a by deducting the defending models armour from the number of successes on the TN test - this number can not be reduced below [0].

Net-hit modifiers are then added. 

An attack does not have to result in any successes from the TN test for the attack to be successful. It only requires that there be at least [1] net-hit, which can be as a result of net-hit modifiers.

When an attack is successful the target model is hit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, help me here, Compound has scored a goal and has a Vengance token on him. (More likely to be Snakeskin with 'Clone'!)

He/she is charged and this triggers GMass/clone. Therefore 0 net hits.

Can I now add the 4 from the vengeance token to chose a result from my playbook? And do this before his counter attack?

 

Bill

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×