Jump to content
  • Announcements

    • Mako

      Tales of Infamy   12/13/2017

      Looking for more Guild Ball content? Just in the last week we've had new episodes of Singled Out, Double Dodge, Strictly the Worst and Don't Touch the Beard, as well as blogs from ForestRambo and MidwestWargaming! Check out Tales of Infamy in the Guild Ball section
Jedianakinsolo

Hot Shot and Counterattack

Recommended Posts

Can Cinder use her Hot Shot ability on a counter attack? We originally decided no, but per an earlier ruling I found, Thresher and Mallet are able to use Extended Reach during a counter attack since it's some form of activation.  This would lead me to believe that Cinder can then use Hot Shot in the same circumstances, but it's somewhat redundant to specify during her activation when it has zero effect otherwise unlike 3" melee would on a non-activating model.

Currently, the way we interpret it is yes, she can use Hot Shot on a counter attack if she has not used it yet. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Before getting a reply to your question, do you have a reference for the extended reach ruling you are talking about?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where did you find that ruling?  "during its activation" and "the active model" are not the same thing.  When a model makes a counterattack, it becomes the active model during that counter attack, but it does not become that model's activation.  Neither Extended Reach or Hot Shot apply during a counterattack, unless there is some corner situation where they are counterattacking during their own activation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are circumstances whereby Extended Reach can be used on a counter attack. If Mallet responds to a counter charge during Mallet's activation for example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even if Cinder makes a counter attack during her activation, declaring a counter attack is not declaring an attack (the same as declaring a charge isn't) so she can't use Hot Shot on a counter attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the question in that thread it is Mallet's activation. Nowhere does it say that Mallet's Extended Reach works outside of his activation.

As stated in the traits, Extended Reach and Hot Shot only take effect during the activation of the model that has the trait.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Does Mallet's Extended Reach allow him to make the counter attack?

 Boar's counter attack deals damage to Brick.  Does this damage trigger Boar's Berzerk to give him a free attack?

Yes to both questions.

So it's the difference of the active model.  I think that makes sense but I'll wait for the official word.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is the answer:

Traits that say they may only be used during a model's activation may only be used during a model's activation.

Hot shot may only be used when declaring an attack. It may not be used when declaring a charge, counter attack or parting blow.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×