Jump to content
Quwaz

Farris rules question

Recommended Posts

So in the write up they talk about her using Impact for the free attack in the middle of a Sprint movement and then continuing to move afterwards. But I have a few questions:

Doesnt the opponents model get a free disengage attack when you are continuing to move? I could see Impact being really strong with a 1 or 2 hit KD result, but Farris only has KD on 4 hits, and that's really hard to hit on 6 dice especially since you don't get the charge +4.

I guess I don't really see the utility of the ability unless the model you are hitting is already KD or if you can take it out with the 1-2 damage you can probably inflict.

Am I missing something? Do they not get a disengage? Or is it more for just free chip damage hit on a KD opponent?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless the model Farris attacks with Impact has a reachable KD result on their playbook the parting blow will just cause damage. 

Not suggesting I'd want to use Impact every activation but it does combo nicely with her Legendary to possibly free up the ball and potentially have enough movement left to recovery or re-position it afterwards. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally the real utility I see in it is that if you need to move further than her jog's threat range you can essentially pick up a "free" attack. 

If you have some 8" away then just sprint into base and then you can make all three/five of your attacks. You can also weave about in combat as opposed to when you charge. Which is pretty relevant when you're on a 50mm base.

I wouldnt use it all the time but it's a nice trick to have.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here there are some additional details about Farris that would be good to see and may help:

  • Farris' Impact doesn't trigger Unpredictable Movement (because of its Advance hasn't finished yet). The same with other abilities, like Counter-Charge and equivalents.
  • Farris works very well with 1 INF. Just Sprint, Attack, get a momentous Push or Stagger, reposition yourself to a good place (preferably without exiting the enemy' melee zone), and done. Reposition her to allow other friendly charges, to block enemy paths and lines of sight, to stay at 6" of Bolt or to give [+1] ARM to any apprentice.
  • Remember that, if you are engaged, you cannot unsnap the ball. If you use the Legendary Play, maybe would be better using the Give It a Whack to "try" to pass the free ball (KICK [2/6"]) to a better place or to a friendly player, rather than snapping it. She is a terrible vessel for Bolt's "I'm Open!" and isn't a good ball carrier (even with ARM [3]) to protect it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 hours ago, Petraites said:

Here there are some additional details about Farris that would be good to see and may help:

  • Farris' Impact doesn't trigger Unpredictable Movement (because of its Advance hasn't finished yet). The same with other abilities, like Counter-Charge and equivalents.
  • Farris works very well with 1 INF. Just Sprint, Attack, get a momentous Push or Stagger, reposition yourself to a good place (preferably without exiting the enemy' melee zone), and done. Reposition her to allow other friendly charges, to block enemy paths and lines of sight, to stay at 6" of Bolt or to give [+1] ARM to any apprentice.
  • Remember that, if you are engaged, you cannot unsnap the ball. If you use the Legendary Play, maybe would be better using the Give It a Whack to "try" to pass the free ball (KICK [2/6"]) to a better place or to a friendly player, rather than snapping it. She is a terrible vessel for Bolt's "I'm Open!" and isn't a good ball carrier (even with ARM [3]) to protect it.

Those are handy hints

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Random question

Can you used Ferris's give it a whack while kd'd. The ability only says that the ball has to be in her melee zone and according to other rulings models still have a melee zone even while kd'd (UM and Honest labour).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, supertzar said:

As a non native english speaker I completely understand what you're getting at :) You do have a melee zone but you would still be unable to perform a kick action. "As if it was in possession..." is the key phrase here and it doesn't override the fact that you cannot have possession of the ball while knocked down.

Actually, Ghost Shot has the same wording, and it was ruled, that you could kick while knocked down.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So if you were to legendary, push & scatter the ball, exit opponent's melle while in 2" of the ball and get knocked down, you would still kick with a 2/6 kick since you are now technically outside of opponents melle?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, Rugi said:

So if you were to legendary, push & scatter the ball, exit opponent's melle while in 2" of the ball and get knocked down, you would still kick with a 2/6 kick since you are now technically outside of opponents melle?

Correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, The Old Buzzard said:

I see a nerf coming! That is very ODD:)

Nah, won't happen THAT often and really with a 2 dice kick (My Farris has only just learned how to polo a ball properly as she managed to get her first successful pass this weekend), she isn't a huge kicker.

But they might though considering I didn't, and I would think many, know this was even possible it doesn't warrent it I feel.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One thing I've learned is you can give the ball extra distance on kicks by dropping it in front of you before "give it a whack" (according to the rule book 1" away), I don't see why a lucky scatter couldn't be a good thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×