Jump to content

Recommended Posts

@Stricknine47 Please read the Enemy Movement section step by step and it should be clear.

The short answer is: No, it won't skip it's turn just because you are on its node at their start of movement... :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Ashraam Hehe, I don't feel like I "own" this, so, feel free to publicize it! Probably a good idea, considering that there will be less and less updates necessary, assuming that the most common questions have been able to be clarified here in the last weeks...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, Replect said:

Hehe, I don't feel like I "own" this, so, feel free to publicize it! Probably a good idea, considering that there will be less and less updates necessary, assuming that the most common questions have been able to be clarified here in the last weeks...

Still, you went to all the trouble to put it together. I just didn't want to step on toes.  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/13/2017 at 5:26 PM, Replect said:

@Stricknine47 Please read the Enemy Movement section step by step and it should be clear.

The short answer is: No, it won't skip it's turn just because you are on its node at their start of movement... :)

I'm not 100% sure it's clear and ran into this exact scenario last night with the Large Hollow Soldier (first time playing the game). There were a couple of ways we figured we could resolve it.

Assumption: the Large Hollow Soldier targets the closest player character when moving prior to making its move. This includes characters that currently share its node.

The way the rules read, it seems it would go like this:

  1. LHS activates and chooses its closest target - in this case, a character that shares its node.
  2. LHS moves towards the closest character.
  3. However, the rules state that if the target already shares the enemy's node, the enemy does not move. Thus, LHS does not move.
  4. Because there was no movement, there is no push and thus no attack. Since LHS has no other actions, he is done.

Note that this is not how we played it, because while the rules read that way it didn't feel like it would be so easy to neuter a higher strength enemy. We played it that LHS activated, targeted the closest character sharing his node, moved 0, pushed and resolved push attack. The way the rules read, though, it would seem like if we played this way that LHS would still not move but would resolve a push - but as we began LHS' activation on the same node, the push attack would not resolve.

Confused, for sure.

-----

Another, unrelated question. When we played last night, we may have been resolving enemy activations incorrectly owing to past experience with cooperative board games like Zombicide. When an enemy initiative level activates (e.g., Hollow Soldiers), does each model fully resolve their entire activation (move + attack) before moving onto the next model, or do you resolve the enemies at the same time because they are the same stat card? For example, I am facing two Soldiers. Does one Soldier activate, move, and attack before the next Soldier activates, moves, and attacks? Or do both Soldiers activate, both move, and then both attack?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Hashmal

I wrote an example a few days back the covers the LHS. Quoted here: 

Example:

You and another player are on a node with an enemy that has Push Movement. It's the enemy's turn to activate. This would be the sequence:

  1. Determine which player is the target for the enemy. (Nearest or Aggro)
  2. Push all players off of the node with the enemy.
  3. Enemy now moves towards the node of the target determined in Step 1.
  4. Push any players that are in any nodes the enemy enters. (Repeat steps 3 & 4 until the enemy has no movement remaining.)
  5. Resolve any other attacks the enemy may have.

Note that if the enemy also has Push Attacks (Large Hollow Soldier, for example) that damage would be resolved during Step 4. This is when you would have to Block or Dodge to avoid the damage. Push Attacks ONLY do damage when the enemy ENTERS your node. If you start in the same node you don't have to worry about the Push Attack damage, yet.

Steps 1-5 above are the same for every enemy that has Push Movement, regardless of how far they move. If they can move 3 spaces they will push every player they encounter on every node, including the one where they start. This is why it's important to choose the Target before you begin moving, so you'll know which direction to keep moving the enemy. If the enemy also has Push Attack, he'll do damage each time he ENTERS a node with a player, even if it's not the target player.

 

For your other question, enemies resolve their turns in sequence, completing their full turn before moving to the next model. When multiples have the same Threat level you can choose their activation order, even to your benefit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Hashmal said:

I'm not 100% sure it's clear and ran into this exact scenario last night with the Large Hollow Soldier (first time playing the game). There were a couple of ways we figured we could resolve it.

Assumption: the Large Hollow Soldier targets the closest player character when moving prior to making its move. This includes characters that currently share its node.

The way the rules read, it seems it would go like this:

  1. LHS activates and chooses its closest target - in this case, a character that shares its node.
  2. LHS moves towards the closest character.
  3. However, the rules state that if the target already shares the enemy's node, the enemy does not move. Thus, LHS does not move.
  4. Because there was no movement, there is no push and thus no attack. Since LHS has no other actions, he is done.

Note that this is not how we played it, because while the rules read that way it didn't feel like it would be so easy to neuter a higher strength enemy. We played it that LHS activated, targeted the closest character sharing his node, moved 0, pushed and resolved push attack. The way the rules read, though, it would seem like if we played this way that LHS would still not move but would resolve a push - but as we began LHS' activation on the same node, the push attack would not resolve.

Confused, for sure.

-----

Another, unrelated question. When we played last night, we may have been resolving enemy activations incorrectly owing to past experience with cooperative board games like Zombicide. When an enemy initiative level activates (e.g., Hollow Soldiers), does each model fully resolve their entire activation (move + attack) before moving onto the next model, or do you resolve the enemies at the same time because they are the same stat card? For example, I am facing two Soldiers. Does one Soldier activate, move, and attack before the next Soldier activates, moves, and attacks? Or do both Soldiers activate, both move, and then both attack?

 

For your LHS issue, the way all pushes work on movement is that after the enemy with push movement has chosen their target for the move, there is a forced push of all players on the same node as the pushing enemy.  This push is caused by the game's rules, not the enemy's action, thus regardless of if the enemy's push deals damage, this forced push causes no damage.  Only after this push to clear the enemy's node has been resolved does the enemy move on to resolve his movement action.

As far as your question about activation order.  I'll mention just in case for some reason you weren't aware, all enemy's have a threat level.  The enemy's with the highest threat level take their turn before those with a lower threat.  In the case of enemy's with equal threat(Usually always enemy's of the same type), you may resolve them in any order you choose.  The enemy resolves their ENTIRE behavior though before moving on to the next enemy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question about the Poisoned condition.

When the enemy ends its activation, does the poison damage apply as physical (negated by physical armour reduction), magic (negated by magic armour reduction) or 'true' damage (not at all negated by armour values)?

If it's True Damage, it seems Poison Mist on the Assassin is really strong, since the group can position to lure enemies onto the same time and then 1-hit them. This is easy with ranged units of the Assassin has the aggro token because he can Dodge roll to manoeuvre them into a corner. Similarly, it's easy with melee units who spawn as a group because the players can choose for them to always move closer as a group.

Finally, Poison Mist even has 1 range so you don't necessarily have to put yourself in great danger to use it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Atrium Carceri said:

I have a question about the Poisoned condition.

When the enemy ends its activation, does the poison damage apply as physical (negated by physical armour reduction), magic (negated by magic armour reduction) or 'true' damage (not at all negated by armour values)?

If it's True Damage, it seems Poison Mist on the Assassin is really strong, since the group can position to lure enemies onto the same time and then 1-hit them. This is easy with ranged units of the Assassin has the aggro token because he can Dodge roll to manoeuvre them into a corner. Similarly, it's easy with melee units who spawn as a group because the players can choose for them to always move closer as a group.

Finally, Poison Mist even has 1 range so you don't necessarily have to put yourself in great danger to use it.

Poison ignores defenses, so it's true damage in your terms. It's very good, but you do have to wait for the enemy to activate before it takes effect, so sometimes you may end up spending more time defending than if you just outright kill enemies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Atrium Carceri said:

But all enemies activate after every player turn, and you can nominate the first to activate on your side, so it's very powerful in my opinion.

Sure, it's definitely good. You could argue any node attack would be just as good or better against low level enemies though, because they wouldn't get a chance to activate again before they die.  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Ashraam said:

Sure, it's definitely good. You could argue any node attack would be just as good or better against low level enemies though, because they wouldn't get a chance to activate again before they die.  :)

Yup, Firebombs are crazy good!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 30.5.2017 at 7:18 PM, Atrium Carceri said:

... and you can nominate the first to activate on your side, ...

But you just choose whom to nominate in the very first encounter. All subsequent encounters, the next character in sequence activates first. Sounds like you nominate the first in every encounter :rolleyes:

The Rules state this:

During the very first character activation, the players can activate the
character of their choice. From then on, the order in which
characters activate goes clockwise around the table. When a new
encounter begins, the first character to activate is the character
who would have activated next in turn order when the previous
encounter ended.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1.6.2017 at 3:30 PM, Arcueid said:

Steven, I've seen your comment in the other post. Could you add an example with the picture of an encounter card ?

What post are you referring to? :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hum it'd a while I asked for this ^^

 

I probably thought about explaining a bit more encounter cards (movements and boss activations) with pictures, schematics.

For example, I still have difficulties to understand blade dance from the dancer (even if we had a discussion about it before).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 hours ago, Ashraam said:

If you're asking for a PDF of the FAQ, I posted one up above.

The comment with the link is here:
PDF Post

I'll add it later in the OP and let you know if I make any changes to the actual FAQ... :)

 

@Arcueid

I'll see what I can put together, not as much time as I would like to these days...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, Replect said:

I'll see what I can put together, not as much time as I would like to these days...

It happens ;)
I may take some time to help you generating images or things like that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This should be clarified even if official rules, but maybe now in this FAQ:

Page 21 of the Rulebook:
The pushed model or models are moved onto an adjacent node that is farther from
the attacking model.

This could easily be understood that all pushed models must be moved to same adjacent node. As it uses singular "an adjacent node", even though plural had been used for "models" before in the sentence. It would be clearer if it would say "adjacent node or nodes" in the rulebook.

 

As far as I know, the intent is that you can choose every pushed character separately: even if they are pushed from the same node, they could choose to be pushed to totally different nodes, assuming multiple nodes fit the requirements (e.g. farther from attacker)(?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there, I've got a question regarding the broadsword or any weapon that allows you to shift (before an attack) for that matter.

Basically, I am confused as to what exactly the shifting allows you to do. If my character is standing on a node with an enemy and I use any of the shift attacks, do I shift one node away and still attack the same enemy that is out of reach now, technically, or do I need to shift onto a node with another enemy and attack them? The legality of the target is causing me some headaches. If I shift onto another node and hit a different enemy, doesn't that mean I declared an illegal target when I initiated the attack? And while we're on the topic, if the last case works as described, would it be possible to use the broadsword as a gap closer to initiate an attack one node away from my character to save a point of stamina? It seems that otherwise a shift before the damage happens is only really useful in a bossfight to shift into another boss' arc.

If anyone could clear this up for me, it'd be greatly appreciated

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/4/2017 at 5:43 AM, lars said:

Hi there, I've got a question regarding the broadsword or any weapon that allows you to shift (before an attack) for that matter.

Basically, I am confused as to what exactly the shifting allows you to do. If my character is standing on a node with an enemy and I use any of the shift attacks, do I shift one node away and still attack the same enemy that is out of reach now, technically, or do I need to shift onto a node with another enemy and attack them? The legality of the target is causing me some headaches. If I shift onto another node and hit a different enemy, doesn't that mean I declared an illegal target when I initiated the attack? And while we're on the topic, if the last case works as described, would it be possible to use the broadsword as a gap closer to initiate an attack one node away from my character to save a point of stamina? It seems that otherwise a shift before the damage happens is only really useful in a bossfight to shift into another boss' arc.

If anyone could clear this up for me, it'd be greatly appreciated

i was playing with this item yesterday. the way i interpret the rule is you get an extra move before your attack if you wish. you don't have to move, and you weapon is still under the constraint of it's range. so if at the beginning of your activation you're 2 from the enemy, you could use your free walk to move 1 space closer then instead of paying 1 stam to move into melee to attack, you would use your ability, which in this case is more than 1 stam, but you get extra dmg with your roll as well so it makes it worth it. so you spend the 2 stam, move one space, then roll your attack. conversely you can have an item where the shifting move happens after your attack. in this case the shift move icon appears after the dice icons on the item's card. and i believe in this example it's the only way to move, attack, and then move again since it's a part of the attack move set.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey so can you add please what happens when you face a Boss a second time (because first time you died) and if the boss deck is shuffled again? (I think so, because the gravestones helping you to see cards, and then you shuffle the deck and later you adding one Heat Up card etc...).

 

Thanks and greetings Ressless

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, Ressless said:

Hey so can you add please what happens when you face a Boss a second time (because first time you died) and if the boss deck is shuffled again? (I think so, because the gravestones helping you to see cards, and then you shuffle the deck and later you adding one Heat Up card etc...).

 

Thanks and greetings Ressless

To (re)start a Boss encounter, you just repeat the steps from "Starting a Boss Encounter" on page 28. This should answer both questions! ;)

(I've added it in the FAQ)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×