Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hello,

I'm working on a "FAQ" kind of and hope it does help people out who are struggeling to figure out how (advances) mechanics/situations work out. It's still very much "work in progress" and probably will be going forward! :) Anyway, if you see anything that is not very clear, please let me know!

(This FAQ is the cumulation of the "Unclear rules/mechanics" thread which is to get official clarification on rules. I'll add clarified topics from there in this FAQ)

Cheers

Replect

- Last Update 24th of July 2017 06:30 CET

 

PS.: If you have more basic questions about how the game flows, you probably find the answer in that "Quick Guide":

 

FAQ

GENERAL

In case of Errata(!):

  • Card takes precedence over token, dial, etc., rulebook takes precedence over card!

Example:

  • Based on the card, the heat up for the Titanite Demon is 10 HP, based on the dial, it is 12 HP... 10 HP is correct!
  • Cards for The Boreal Outrider Knight, Gargoyle, Titanite Demon, and Winged Knight each have main boss icon. As of rulebook each is a mini boss... Mini boss is correct!

 

SETUP

Tile Setup

You have total freedom on where the tiles are placed leading off the Bonfire Tile, if you want to just use one doorway, then just use one doorway :).

 

TILES AND NODES

Node Model Limit

As soon as the active model moves onto a node with 3 models on, push one of these 3 models - choosen by the players - immediately of that node, before resolving any following actions (like attacks, movement pushes)! Means, the model that got pushed because of the "Node Model Limit" would not be hit by a potential range 0 attack, assuming that the movement of the active model would end its turn on that node. If the active model still has movement remaining, and the target is not on the same node (since it just got pushed), it will move/follow.

Remember though, boss models cannot be pushed by a character’s movement or attack. The only way a boss model can be pushed is if another boss model moves onto its node in a boss encounter with multiple boss models.

 

THE BONFIRE TILE

You don't have to rest at the bonfire to use any of the following features:

  • Treasure Deck
  • Inventory
  • Soul Cache
  • Blacksmith Andre
  • The Firekeeper

 

ENCOUNTER SETUP

Gravestone, Barrel and Chest

Gravestones and Chests block all movement (walk, run, dodge, push), irrevelant of whether the chest has been opened or not. Barrel's specifically mention the types of movement they block because they don't block dodges, where as Gravestones and Chests do block dodges.

 

ENCOUNTERS

The encounter takes place on the single tile (or multiple tiles for main/mega-bosses) they spawn on, you cannot leave this tile during the encounter.

 

COMBAT BASICS

Pushing

       General

  • A push without damage as part of movement cannot attempted to be dodged/blocked.
  • A push with damage as part of movement can attempted to be dodged/blocked. Pushes with damage are considered (physical) attacks, which is why they're listed under enemy attacks (page 25).      

 

       Push (Standard Enemies)

  • If a non-boss enemy pushes you as part of movement, you will be pushed onto an adjacent node.
  • If a non-boss enemy pushes you as part of an attack, you will be pushed onto an adjacent node farther from the attacker.      

       Push (Bosses)

  • If a boss pushes you off of its node as part of movement or an attack, you will be pushed onto an adjacent node in the same arc. (If there are no eligible nodes due to the tile’s wall, you are pushed to any adjacent node touching the wall instead).
  • If a boss pushes you off of any other node as part of an attack, you will be pushed onto an adjacent node farther from the attacker.

      

       Remember

  • A boss model can not be pushed by a characters' movement or attack!
  • An enemy cannot be attacked by another enemy, including push. (Exception is pushing as a result of Node Model Limit!)
  • When a character chooses to dodge while on a boss’s node, they can ignore the normal rules for boss arcs and instead move to any arc or onto any adjacent node.

 

Conditions

  • When suffering damage from a poison token at the end of the model's activation, it will also trigger a bleed token on that model!
  • If a poisoned player kills the last enemy, poison will not trigger, since the encounter ends as soon as the last enemy dies.

 

CHARACTERS

TOKENS

       General

  • You cannot give away any of the tokens on your player board (ember, luck, estus, or heroic).

 

       Ember token

  • When an Ember is drawn you immediately place an Ember token on one of the player characters (you can't choose to save it!) and then discard (means 'out of the game') the Ember card. Once you decide who gets the ember token, that's who has it. 'In the rare case that the players find an Ember card in the treasure deck when all characters already have an Ember token, shuffle the Ember card into the treasure deck and draw a new treasure card to replace it (without spending an additional soul).'
  • Embers won't apply to traps or to a condition that deals 3+ damage
  • Assume a character with an Ember token (reduces 3+ damage from an attack by 1) and a bleed token (causes 2 additional damage if model takes damage) gets hit for 2 damage. The ember won't apply (means would not reduce the damage by 1), since the damage is not considered to be a single damage of 4 (2 damage from attack + 2 damage from bleed), it's considered to be damage from 2 sources (one from the attack, the other from the bleed)

 

       Luck token

  • Luck tokens are only for the character that has the token to reroll a die they just rolled.

 

ABILITIES (Ability-text on cards/boards)

       General Ability 'wording' clarification

  • 'All characters', 'One character' or 'Two characters' etc. mean the character that used the ability can also gain the benefit. 'Attacks' that state specifically 'other' mean the character that used the ability could not gain the benefit.

 

       Modifiers to weapon's attacks

  • If a weapon ability does not have a die roll (such as healing, a move, a push, a condition, etc.), then you do not apply modifiers to its damage. You just apply the listed effect.

 

       Berserk Charge

  • Berserk Charge is a move followed by an attack, in the same activation.
  • You could move/attack with one weapon, then Berserk Charge (move one fore free followed by an attack) with a second weapon... but it doesn't override the rule that you can only attack with each weapon once. So you couldn't make a Berserk Charge attack with a weapon you've already used that activation.
  • You could also attack with one weapon, (then move and) then Berserk Charge (move one for free followed by an attack) with a second weapon.

 

CHARACTER ACTIVATIONS

Character Movement/Attacks

Your options are:

  • Move any number of nodes (spending moved nodes minus 1 - since first one is free) and then attack once with each equipped weapon in your hands
  • Attack once with each equipped weapon in your hands and then move any number of nodes (spending moved nodes minus 1 - since first one is free)

The only way of moving before and after an attack or the other way around would be if your weapon's attack provides additional movement (which is not related to your base movement) or with a heroic like "Berserk Charge"!

Also, potential weapons in your backpack slot stating they can be used in the backpack slot, can also be used to attack with once, as they overrule the "in your hands" rule.

 

(Defend against) ENEMY ATTACKS - and TRAPS

Dodge/Block/Resist order if multiple characters get attacked

  • Player choice, but they are considered to be simultaneous. So if for example the Assassin dodges and uses his Heroic, and then kills the enemy making the attack the other players hit by the attack still need to block/dodge/resist.

 

Dodge

  • You can attempt to dodge an attack, even though your symbols shown in the equipped items'Dodge show 0, but assuming it's a dodge diificulty of 1 or higher you will automatically fail. (In corner case scenarios this can be a viable thing to do.)
  • You "must" spend 1 Stamina and "can" move to any adjacent node (with no chest or gravestone on, if barrel, you have to spend 1 additional Stamina). Means, you have to pay 1 Stamina, but you can choose to not move.
  • If you fail the attempted dodge, you will resolve the hit by the attack from the node you moved onto (if you have choosen to move). Means, if the attack involved a push, you get pushed from the node you moved onto, take the full damage, involved conditions and such

 

Dodge + Traps (specific scenario to highlight the order of resolving attacks)

Remember a trap's damage cannot be blocked!

Assume an enemy attacks you and you dodge on a another (face down) trap, which you also dodge and so on:

Enemy attack -> Choose to dodge -> Pay 1 stamina -> Move to a trapped node -> Choose to Dodge trap -> Pay 1 stamina for Trap dodge -> Move to another node -> Make Dodge dice roll for Dodging Trap -> Rinse and repeat until dodging is finished with Traps or you step on a Trap that is blank -> Dodge roll for the push attack -> Fail the roll -> Take damage from push attack -> Get pushed 

The TLDR is that Traps interrupt enemy attacks 'The first time a character moves onto a node with a face down trap token, flip the trap token over'. Once you're finished resolving traps you make the dice roll for the initial enemy attack and resolve that accordingly if you fail the dice roll. This isn't a scenario I see coming up all that much, but yeah, thats the resolution.

 

ENEMY ACTIVATIONS

GENERAL

       Activation

  • Enemies activate (move and attack) one at a time, one after another. From highest to lowest threat, if equal, characters decide.

  

       Behavior cards/icons

  • A behavior card contains a combination of one or multiple behavior icons (movement, attack, etc.), determining the behavior of an enemies activation. Each of these behavior icons is resolved as its own (isolated) action, from left to right! This distinction is even more important for boss behaviour cards, especially with repeats.                                                            

                                                                                              

       Determine Target ("nearest" or "aggro")

  • The very first thing you do with a behaviour icon is determine who they're going after (before resolving any other actions like pushes and such)! That's not something that happens at each step of movement or a single time for an entire behaviour card. You do that at the start of each behaviour icon (start of movement icon, start of attack icon, etc.).

 

ENEMY MOVEMENT

       Player decisions on Enemy movements

  • Which route the enemy takes is entirely up to the players, as long as the closer to/farther away criteria is met (assuming of course there are nodes that would take the enemy closer to/farther away, if there aren't any... then the enemy won't move). Sheperding enemies that move away into a corner is an entirely valid tactic. 

 

       Moving towards "nearest" or "aggro":

  1. If the movement is towards the "nearest," determine who that is (it will not change during movement)
  2. If the movement has Push, Push characters off the node the enemy is on (if push includes an attack, the attack will not trigger!)
  3. If the enemy is a boss and the movement is towards "nearest" or "aggro," turn the boss so the centre of its front arc faces an adjacent node that is closer to that character (you are now done if it is a 0 distance move)
  4. Move the boss onto the node directly in front of it or the non-boss enemy one node closer to "nearest" or "aggro" as appropriate
  5. If the movement has Push, Push characters off the node the enemy is on (you are now done if it is a 1 distance move) (if push includes an attack, the attack will trigger and attacks all pushed characters)
  6. Repeat steps 3-5 for 2 distance or longer moves

       Additional movement towards "nearest" or "aggro" information:

  • If the movement has no Push (including Push triggered by Node Model Limit) and the enemy is on the node of its target ("nearest" or "aggro"), the movement ends.

 

       Moving away from "nearest" or "aggro":

  1. see "Moving towards"
  2. see "Moving towards"
  3. If the enemy is a boss and the movement is farther away from "nearest" or "aggro," turn the boss so the centre of its back arc faces an adjacent node that is farther from that character. If there isn't any node, turn the boss so the centre of its front arc faces an adjacent node that is closer to that character (you are now done if it is a 0 distance move)
  4. Move the boss onto the node directly behind it or the non-boss enemy one node farther from "nearest" or "aggro" as appropriate. (you are now done if there isn't any node)
  5. see "Moving towards"
  6. see "Moving towards"

 

       Moving without "nearest" or "aggro" (Boss only):

  • The boss never turns if the movement is not towards/away from "nearest" or "aggro"
  • The boss never moves/shifts diagonally in relation to it's facing. In other words, it never moves onto an adjacent node that is along the lines between arcs
  • The boss moves/shifts the stated amount of nodes exactly in the direction as stated on the movement icon (foward/backwards/left/right) in relation to it's facing
  • The above means, there is always only one valid node for each individual move/shift, the adjacent node in the center of the arc in movement direction! If this only option is not available, for example because there is a wall, chest, gravestone or (not destroyed) barrel on that adjacent node, it doesn't move

     

 

       Additional boss push clarification

  • If a boss pushes you off of its node as part of movement or an attack, you will be pushed onto an adjacent node in the same arc. (If there are no eligible nodes due to the tile’s wall, you are pushed to any adjacent node touching the wall instead).

 

BOSS ENCOUNTERS

Start of Boss Encounter

  • To start (and also to restart!) a Boss encounter, repeat the all steps from "Starting a Boss Encounter" on page 28 of the rulebook.

Boss arcs

  • The top arc of the arc diagram on a behavior card is always the front arc of the boss's model.
  • If you're moving off of the boss's node for any reason, you need to stay in the same arc. This includes any pushes as part of movement or attacks.

 

Heat Up

  • If the boss will heat-up after suffering 1 damage from a poison token at the end of his activation, the weak arc still remains to be the one from the last face-up behavior card. Remember the weak arc while a player starts performing the Heat Up card addition and shuffling or just wait before doing that until the beginning of the next boss activation.

 

 

OTHERS

Wording 'Target'

  • There's a difference between "target" used conversationally and "target" the game term defined on page 20 of the rulebook. "Target" the game term means comparing an attack to block, resist, or dodge to determine damage dealt. When the Herald uses "one character within range gains 6 stamina" on his Talisman, he's choosing who to affect, but that's not the defined game term "target."

 

Wording 'Attack'

  • An "attack" lists dice you roll against an enemy's block/resist.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the boss movement section, moving without "nearest" or "aggro" you state you move in that "exact" direction. I assume that you mean in that arc (and is why you use""). 

So if 12 o'clock was straight ahead (north) but the nearest node was at 11 o'clock or 1 o'clock (so still in the front arc) the boss would move to one of those whilst keeping his exact front arc centre facing 12 o'clock (north) and not turning to face the node he is moving to. 

Thats how I have interpreted the rule and value your opinion if I am understanding it correctly 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Huggy said:

In the boss movement section, moving without "nearest" or "aggro" you state you move in that "exact" direction. I assume that you mean in that arc (and is why you use""). 

So if 12 o'clock was straight ahead (north) but the nearest node was at 11 o'clock or 1 o'clock (so still in the front arc) the boss would move to one of those whilst keeping his exact front arc centre facing 12 o'clock (north) and not turning to face the node he is moving to. 

Thats how I have interpreted the rule and value your opinion if I am understanding it correctly 

First, I see I should also add that it does not turn with movement without "nearest" or "aggro", to be sure it's clear.

About the actual question, please let me know if the following addition in red in that sentence makes it clear!? :)

Move/Shift the stated amount of nodes (without turning!!) in the "exact" direction as stated on the movement icon (foward/backwards/left/right)!

There is always only one valid node in that "exact" direction for each individual move/shift, the adjacent node in the center of the arc in movement direction! If this only option is not available, for example because there is a wall, chest, gravestone or (not destroyed) barrel on that adjacent node, don't move/shift!

 

As said, I hope the addition in red above already makes it clear (I try to avoid examples if possible to not bloat up the FAQ for individual topics too much.).

If not...

I'm not sure if I understand your example, since if the boss is facing 12 o'clock (north) that automatically means there is...

  1. ... either no adjacent node in its front arc (if it stands along the upper wall)
  2. ... either an adjacent node at 12 (north) and 11 o'clock (north-west) in its front arc (if it stands along the right wall)
  3. ... either an adjacent node at 12 (north) and 2 o'clock (north-west) in its front arc (if it stands along the left wall)
  4. ... both an adjacent node at 12 (north), 11 (north-west) and 2 o'clock (north-east) in its front arc (if it does not stand along the upper/left/right wall)

With that said, considering the card shows forward movement, it would mean it would not move in situation 1. and in the situation 2.-4. it would move onto the adjacent node at 12 o'clock, the one adjacent node in the center of the arc in movement direction. The adjacent nodes at 11 o'clock (north-west) and 2 o'clock (north-east) are obviously then not in the center of the arc in movement direction. There is always only exactly zero or one adjacent node in the center of the arc in movement direction, so there never is another option!

If you consider the same situation as above, but in any of the situations 2. to 4. would be a chest, gravestone or (not destroyed) barrel on the adjacent node at 12 o'clock, that one adjacent node in the center of the arc in movement direction (forward here) blocks movement now. So now it would not move because of that blocked noe, even though there are adjacent nodes at 11 and/or 2 o'clock, since these are not in the center of the arc...

If you consider the same sitaution as above again, but the boss is facing 2 o'clock (north-east), it would not move in situation 1. and 2., but would move in situation 3. and 4. on the adjacent node at 2 o'clock, since that one now would be the one (and only) in the center of the arc in movement direction.

If you consider the same sitaution as above again, but the boss is facing 9 o'clock (west) and the card shows right movement, it would not move in situation 1., but would move in situation 2.-4. on the adjacent node at 12 o'clock, since that one now would be the one (and only) in the center of the arc in movement direction (his right arc, since he moves to the right).

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, the examples have left me a little confused. What I was getting at was when you say exact direction, you mean in the relevant arc? There is not always going to be a node in the exact centre of the arc

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Huggy

The boss will always have nodes in the center of at least two of the four arcs, since it will always turn in complete 45° steps, there is no turning in-between. The least amount of arcs without any node in their center could be three, while sitting in one of the corners. When it is in the upper left corner of a tile, facing north-west, the center of the left, front and right arc will be facing the wall, while the center of the back arc will have one node adjacent to it. Any other position will result in equal or more arcs with a node in their center.

And with that in mind, the boss will only move/shift if in the direction the movement icon dictates, when an adjacent node (not occupied by chest, gravestone or (not destroyed) barrel) is available in that exact/specific direction. So, no matter what, with the above corner situation, the only direction he could move here, is to that one adjacent node in the center of the back arc, which would mean the movement icon would have to show at least 1 movement backwards. There is no diagonal movement in relation to the boss's facing.

 

Now? Probably I'm about to get "lost in translation" here if that still doesn't "click"! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry but you are making the answer really complicated

O

                                                                                                        1           2

3

                                                                                                        4           5

6

If the dancer is O is on its starting node and the _ is the front arc so it is facing straight down the page and I draw Flashing Blade, so need to move forward two. The players are on the entry node on the second tile (so are well out of the way).

I assume that I would move to node 3 as that is exactly straight forward. Nodes 1 and 2 are closer but are on the line between arcs and then I would move to node 6.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Huggy I'm sorry! :D I don't want to make it complicated, but I'm not absolutely sure what exactly you are looking to clarify here! :D

That sentence "There is not always going to be a node in the exact centre of the arc" gave me the impression you are not aware of that the boss only turns in 45° steps, but probably you assumed I'm always talking about the front arc or I just misunderstood you.

Also, careful with the wording 'closer/nearer' since in game term the nodes 1,2,3 all have the same distancen (range 1) to the node the Dancer is on, and the nodes 4,5,6 alsohave the same distance (range 2) to the node the Dancer is on. I understand that you are aware of that, but it confused me while trying to clarify this... :)

About your example, it is correct that he would move to node 3 (the adjacent node in the center of the arc in movement direction - in this case center of front arc) and then to node 6 because of the same requirements, but looking at your first example in your initial post, I'm not sure if that clarifies that you got it right for any possible situation.

 

Take this example:

1              2              3

        4              5

6              7              8

        9              O

X             X              X   

 

O is the Dancer, facing 8 (north-east) with Flashing Blade (I don't have the card available, but I hope it's actually saying move 2 forward without any target).

Now, what do you think will he move onto?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well it would move to 8 first. Then as 3 should just be in the front arc I would say move there but still face north east so would be looking directly into the corner. But if the rules mean that it would try to move straight north east again there is no node to move to so would stay on node 8

Also you saying that in my example nodes 1,2 and 3 are all treated as having equal range one helps because if u use a ruler I'm sure that 3 would be physically further away on the board. 

Its just me trying to understand if move forward means to a node in the front arc. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi,

on simple question.

If a enemy makes a push with damage on its movement how i have to handle this if i try to dodge this attack?

Currently i play it like this.

1. Scenario
- Enemy moves on a node with the character
- Char is pushed to the next node
- Enemy makes the push-attack
- Char dodges the attack a can move the another node (and can be out of range for the real attack as next action)

Complete movement of the Char = 2 Nodes, if i move on dodge too.

2. Scenario
- Character already stands on the node of the enemy
- Character has to be moved on node before enemy movement
- Enemy moves on the node of the Char
- Char is pushed to the next node
- Enemy makes the push-attack
- Char dodges the attack a can move the another node (and can be out of range for the real attack as next action)

Complete movement of the Char = 3 Nodes, if i move on dodge too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Kneudel said:
Hi,

on simple question.

If a enemy makes a push with damage on its movement how i have to handle this if i try to dodge this attack?

Currently i play it like this.

1. Scenario
- Enemy moves on a node with the character
- Char is pushed to the next node
- Enemy makes the push-attack
- Char dodges the attack a can move the another node (and can be out of range for the real attack as next action)

Complete movement of the Char = 2 Nodes, if i move on dodge too.

2. Scenario
- Character already stands on the node of the enemy
- Character has to be moved on node before enemy movement
- Enemy moves on the node of the Char
- Char is pushed to the next node
- Enemy makes the push-attack
- Char dodges the attack a can move the another node (and can be out of range for the real attack as next action)

Complete movement of the Char = 3 Nodes, if i move on dodge too.

The Push Attack happens as part of the movement.

So in scenario 1:

The enemy moves onto your node with a Push Attack. If you choose to dodge you spend your stamina then choose the node you dodge to. Then make your dodge roll. If you succeed you are fine. If you fail you take the damage and you are pushed from the NEW node you dodged to.

If you chose to dodge but remain on the same node (you can do this!) and your dodge is successful you don't move at all.

Scenario 2 works the same, but the initial push to move you off the shared node with the enemy does no damage.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Ashraam said:

The Push Attack happens as part of the movement.

So in scenario 1:

The enemy moves onto your node with a Push Attack. If you choose to dodge you spend your stamina then choose the node you dodge to. Then make your dodge roll. If you succeed you are fine. If you fail you take the damage and you are pushed from the NEW node you dodged to.

If you chose to dodge but remain on the same node (you can do this!) and your dodge is successful you don't move at all.

Scenario 2 works the same, but the initial push to move you off the shared node with the enemy does no damage.

 

Are you shure. If i read page 24 the order is aleasy Move -> Push -> Attack

"If the Push icon includes a number, characters pushed out of the way su er that amount of damage during the push "

...pushed... is past 

 

The only thing that makes sense is (even they say pushes can't be block or doge) is that a blocked push-Attack always moves a char, whether is doing damage or not because the char is aleays HIT.

Doging a push-attack only moves if the char is failing the doge.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
28 minutes ago, Kneudel said:

Are you shure. If i read page 24 the order is aleasy Move -> Push -> Attack

"If the Push icon includes a number, characters pushed out of the way su er that amount of damage during the push "

...pushed... is past 

 

 

 

Yeah, the Attack is part of the Push, which in this case is part of the Move. See on page 25, the bottom Movement icon describes that an Attack can be part of the Push.

However, the order in which Dodges are resolved takes precedence over how damage is resolved. Also from page 25:

1. Look at the enemy data card (or the boss’s behaviour card)
to determine the dodge difficulty of the attack.
2. The character must spend 1 Stamina and can move 1 node.
3. Gather dice equal to the symbols shown in the equipped
items’ Dodge.
4. Roll the dice.
5. If the number of Dodge icons rolled equals or exceeds the
dodge difficulty, the character suffers 0 damage. Otherwise,
they are hit by the attack and suffer its full damage.

As you can see during the second step, you've already moved to your new node before even checking to see if the attack hits or not.

In Steps 4-5 you see the results of the Dodge. If you make it, you take no damage and you aren't pushed. If you fail, you take damage and the Push hits you. So, since you've already moved you're now pushed out of the node you Dodged to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
53 minutes ago, Ashraam said:

Yeah, the Attack is part of the Push, which in this case is part of the Move. See on page 25, the bottom Movement icon describes that an Attack can be part of the Push.

However, the order in which Dodges are resolved takes precedence over how damage is resolved. Also from page 25:

1. Look at the enemy data card (or the boss’s behaviour card)
to determine the dodge difficulty of the attack.
2. The character must spend 1 Stamina and can move 1 node.
3. Gather dice equal to the symbols shown in the equipped
items’ Dodge.
4. Roll the dice.
5. If the number of Dodge icons rolled equals or exceeds the
dodge difficulty, the character suffers 0 damage. Otherwise,
they are hit by the attack and suffer its full damage.

As you can see during the second step, you've already moved to your new node before even checking to see if the attack hits or not.

In Steps 4-5 you see the results of the Dodge. If you make it, you take no damage and you aren't pushed. If you fail, you take damage and the Push hits you. So, since you've already moved you're now pushed out of the node you Dodged to.

OK Thanks. 

 

Page 20 make it complete for me.

"

A character is hit by an attack even if the attack deals 0 damage due to the target’s Block or Resist value. ey could still be pushed or su er a condition as explained below. If a character is able to dodge the attack, however, they are not hit by the attack. "

 

Hit means a push moves the char, even there is no damage. A successfully dodge do not hit, and not pushes the char. (But you can move one node for the dodge roll).

Summery.

- Movement with pushes always moves the chars because they can't be dodge or block

- Movement with push attacks moves the char if the char is hit. This happens if the char trys to block, resist or doing a failed dodge.

- Attacks with pushes moves the chars after the attack if the chars are hitten by the attack (block, resists or failed doge)

 

The only chase were a char is not moving by a push if the doing a successfully dodge roll.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I still have not understood this. Why does an opponent do not push damage when I'm on the same nodet?

1. I am on the same node as the opponent
2. He pushes me
3. because of the push symbol, I get five damage
4. He moves a node
5. Come on my node
6. Repeat 2 3

 

That same again when he cant move.
It has zero movement but there is a push symbol with it.
Then he would have to push me, but he will not follow.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@ElToupe You have to differentiate between "the enemy is on the same node as your character" (at the beginning of his movement) or "the enemy moves onto the node your character is on" (with the first move and any move that would follow). Think about it like that the enemy can't really hurt you with that push from the same node, since it didn't have the room to really speed up to give you a proper hurtful push, but for each node it moves onto then it has that speed to really hurt you...

If you follow this step by step, there is not really room for failure... :)

 

ENEMY MOVEMENT

       Player decisions on Enemy movements

  • Which route the enemy takes is entirely up to the players, as long as the closer to/farther away criteria is met (assuming of course there are nodes that would take the enemy closer to/farther away, if there aren't any... then the enemy won't move). Sheperding enemies that move away into a corner is an entirely valid tactic. 

 

       Moving towards "nearest" or "aggro":

  1. If the movement is towards the "nearest," determine who that is (it will not change during movement)
  2. If the movement has Push, Push characters off the node the enemy is on (if push includes an attack, the attack will not trigger!)
  3. If the enemy is a boss and the movement is towards "nearest" or "aggro," turn the boss so the centre of its front arc faces an adjacent node that is closer to that character (you are now done if it is a 0 distance move)
  4. Move the boss onto the node directly in front of it or the non-boss enemy one node closer to "nearest" or "aggro" as appropriate
  5. If the movement has Push, Push characters off the node the enemy is on (you are now done if it is a 1 distance move) (if push includes an attack, the attack will trigger and attacks all pushed characters)
  6. Repeat steps 3-5 for 2 distance or longer moves

 

etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, ElToupe said:

I still have not understood this. Why does an opponent do not push damage when I'm on the same nodet?

1. I am on the same node as the opponent
2. He pushes me
3. because of the push symbol, I get five damage
4. He moves a node
5. Come on my node
6. Repeat 2 3

 

That same again when he cant move.
It has zero movement but there is a push symbol with it.
Then he would have to push me, but he will not follow.

Page 25 say is crystal clear

 

"... is attack targets all characters on each node the enemy moves into. (Note that it does not target characters on the node on which the enemy started.) "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When pushed, I thought you were pushed onto any adjacent node (within the same arc, if facing a boss) that the player chose. I don't remember reading anything about being pushed onto an adjacent node farther from the attacker in the rulebook, but maybe I overlooked something.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, The Bruce said:

When pushed, I thought you were pushed onto any adjacent node (within the same arc, if facing a boss) that the player chose. I don't remember reading anything about being pushed onto an adjacent node farther from the attacker in the rulebook, but maybe I overlooked something.

isn't every adjacent node farther from the attacker though?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Ragnara said:

isn't every adjacent node farther from the attacker though?

Not necessarily if you aren't on the same node as the attacker at the time the push is resolved. For instance, if you've moved during your dodge attempt, then fail the attempt and get pushed, there could be several adjacent nodes equidistant from the attacker. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, The Bruce said:

Not necessarily if you aren't on the same node as the attacker at the time the push is resolved. For instance, if you've moved during your dodge attempt, then fail the attempt and get pushed, there could be several adjacent nodes equidistant from the attacker. 

True, true.

But you are correct. At least I haven't found a line that states that you have to get pushed to a node further away from the attacker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 21: "If the Push icon appears on an attack, the model (or models) hit by the attack are pushed. The pushed model or models are moved onto an adjacent node that is farther from the attacking model."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Replect said:

Page 21: "If the Push icon appears on an attack, the model (or models) hit by the attack are pushed. The pushed model or models are moved onto an adjacent node that is farther from the attacking model."

Thanks Replect. My mistake: I was reading the digital version instead of the print version. I didn't realize the language had been changed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, The Bruce said:

Thanks Replect. My mistake: I was reading the digital version instead of the print version. I didn't realize the language had been changed.

The newer digital version on the SFG website matches the printed version. They did change some language from the original version they posted months back.

Edit - You can find it here:
English Rulebook

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Ashraam said:

The newer digital version on the SFG website matches the printed version. They did change some language from the original version they posted months back.

Thanks for the info, Ashraam! I didn't realize my digital copy was outdated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I am understanding this correctly, it seems that a movement push attack that occurs when the enemy is on the same node as you does nothing whatsoever. For example, the Giant Hollow Soldier moves one node closer to the nearest character and does 5 damage with a push. If I move my character onto the same node as the Giant Hollow, does the Giant Hollow basically skip its turn? It seems that this is what the rule book says, but that seems way too easy.

 

Page 25:

"... is attack targets all characters on each node the enemy moves into. (Note that it does not target characters on the node on which the enemy started.) "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×