Jump to content

Recommended Posts

The core rulebook pg 36 under Parting Blow says the following:

"A Parting Blow cannot cause a Reposition or trigger a
Character Play."

 

On pg 13 it also says the following:

"When a model or marker is placed, it has not made an Advance or
Reposition, and it is not considered to have moved."

 

Veteran Hearne's Lunar Eclipse character trait reads as follows:

"When this model damages an enemy model that is suffering the snared condition with a Playbook damage result this model may be placed within [1"] of the enemy model."

 

In short, direct placement is not a Reposition, and therefore it is not forbidden by the Parting Blow rules. Meaning that if Veteran Hearne makes a Parting Blow against a snared model then Veteran Hearne may use his Lunar Eclipse rule to teleport. Is this intended? It follows the letter of the rules, but it certainly doesn't seem to follow the spirit of the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i don't understand how it's not in the spirit? I love the idea of someone slowly jogging away from Hearne whilst he hits them in the back, only for them to turn around and there he is stood right in front of them smiling with his big bushy moustache.

 

Spirit of the rules is a very subjective remember.

 

As for the written side of things, it seems perfectly legal to me. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The spirit of the rule is that repositions are not allowed on Parting Blows because if they were, the repositions could leave the models engaging each other, calling for another parting blow if the advance continues.  Imagine trying to walk away from Decimate.  Each attack she does at least one damage and keeps the other model just engaged so they trigger another parting blow.  Moving anywhere would call for an arbitrarily high number of parting blows.  vHearne can do the same because placing is not a reposition.  Every inch that a snared model moves away from vHearne, it takes another parting blow.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks accurate from the rules. If your'e snared and taking parting blows from a model with a KD on the second column, you're probably not going very far anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only curious part of it is where does vHearne teleport to, 1" away from where the parting blow took place, or 1" away from the model's final position. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Much like the potential for a knockdown, I'd say this all gets resolved right at the edge of melee. Exit the melee, resolve the attack, place Hearne (assuming that is allowed) then continue moving if desired. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello. 

The relevant sentence is on Page 36 of the Kick Off Rulebook, fifth paragraph. Please treat the final sentence of this paragraph as if it says: “A Parting Blow cannot cause a Reposition or Place, or trigger a Character Play."

This will be reflected in an upcoming errata. Veteran Hearne may not, as a result, be placed as a result of Lunar Eclipse if he damages an enemy model with a Parting Blow. 

Thank you. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×