Jump to content

Recommended Posts

So, here’s a ‘duh’ question I’m sure, but... after an encounter is cleared, do you have to go rest at the bonfire to spend Souls, resenting all the encounters? Or can you spend Souls/reset your endurance, and then move onto the next encounter? Replect FAQ thread says you don’t have to go rest, but the rulebook seems to say that you do, and it resets all encounters.

Seems clear, but I just wanna make sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Resting at the bonfire does reset all the encounters.

However, you don't have to rest in order to spend your souls. You can spend them anytime you are not in an encounter. Also, your health and stamina reset to full after every encounter. Things like Estus and class abilities only reset if you rest.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 15 - "Resting at the Bonfire" 

 

When the party is defeated in an encounter, the characters must rest at the bonfire.The party may also choose to rest at the bonfire any time they are on the Bonfire tile. Resting at the bonfire restores many of the characters’ limited resources, but it also resets the encounter cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Flamehearted! I know the page. I’m more interested where it says you can spend Souls while not on the Bonfire tile.

All underlines are mine:

pg. 13 - “Home Base”

Another important party resource on the Bonfire tile is the soul cache...and are used in numerous ways when interacting with the non-player characters, Blacksmith Andre and the Firekeeper.

pg. 14 - “Blacksmith Andre”

When the party returns to the Bonfire between encounters, they may visit Blacksmith Andre to purchase treasure, change equipment, and upgrade equipment.

To purchase treasure, remove 1 soul from the soul cache...

Characters can change equipment only when they visit Blacksmith Andre.

pg 15 - “The Firekeeper

The party may visit the Firekeeper to level up and restore luck. 

To level up, a character must spend souls...

characters can also restore luck at the Firekeeper. A character must spend 1 soul...

 

So, that all seems pretty straight-forward and clear to me: you MUST return to the Bonfire if you want to interact with NPCs (thus resetting the encounters), and interacting with the NPCs is the ONLY WAY to spend souls. I cannot find anything in the rulebook or FAQ/Errata that contradicts this. Don’t get me wrong: I REALLY want to find something which DOES contradict this...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Ironmonger,

I suppose what you got wrong is, that you can return to the bonfire (between encounters) *without* resting.

That way you do not spend a bonfire spark, but you can use Blacksmith Andre and The Firekeeper.

Top of page 14: 

When the party returns to the bonfre between encounters,
they may visit Blacksmith Andre to purchase treasure, change
equipment, and upgrade equipment.

So you can return to the bonfire anytime between encounters. You optionally can rest there, to restore some tokens (see "Resting at the bonfire", p. 15).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my own words: only for the very first encounter, players choose who activates first (and thus gets the First Activation token). For every encounter, players choose who gets the Aggro token.

Just search the rulebook for "first activation", there are only a few hits. It reveals this paragraph on page 19:

No matter whether the encounter ends in victory
or defeat, give the First Activation token to the
player who is next in turn order after the last
player who activated their character. The player
with the First Activation token will activate their
character first in the next encounter.

And in left column of p. 19 it states

During the very first character activation, the players can activate the
character of their choice. From then on, the order in which
characters activate goes clockwise around the table. When a new
encounter begins, the first character to activate is the character
who would have activated next in turn order when the previous
encounter ended.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Thinkpositiv

This is correct.

The 1st Player token and Aggro tokens have caused a lot of confusion with new players.

1st Player is assigned at the beginning of the game, then goes around in turn order from encounter to encounter, depending on who acted last in the previous encounter.

The Aggro token is assigned by player choice at the beginning of each encounter.

 

Note this means if you give the same player the 1st Player and Aggro tokens at the same time, they'll have aggro for two turns in a row:

  • Monsters activate - potentially targeting player with aggro.
  • 1st player activates and receives the Aggro token when finished.
  • Monsters activate again - potentially targeting player with aggro.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,

I've read somewhere warrior can attack with his weapon, then switch and attack again with another weapon during a special attack.

But in the rules, it says that a character has to switch weapons before moving/attacking.

Alex

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Arcueid said:

Hi all,

I've read somewhere warrior can attack with his weapon, then switch and attack again with another weapon during a special attack.

But in the rules, it says that a character has to switch weapons before moving/attacking.

Alex

That's correct. Equipment changes are free but have to happen at the beginning of your activation.

It's possible they meant Warrior can attack then move then attack again by activating his class ability, but this doesn't allow a change in equipment.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Ashraam said:

It's possible they meant Warrior can attack then move then attack again by activating his class ability, but this doesn't allow a change in equipment.

Since a weapon cannot be used twice in the same activation, a warrior cannot use attack and his special ability in the same activation ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Arcueid said:

Since a weapon cannot be used twice in the same activation, a warrior cannot use attack and his special ability in the same activation ?

He'd have to be wielding a second weapon. I should have clarified that. I suppose that could be what they meant when they said switching equipment. You wouldn't be changing your equipment though, just dual-wielding and attacking with each weapon with a move in-between.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never talked about changing equipment but switching equipment :)

 

From the rulebook:

  • When a character starts their activation:
    • Tey gain 2 Stamina.
    • Tey gain the Aggro token.
    • Tey may swap items between their backup slot and hand
    slots (see ‘Equipment Cards’, p. 12).
    Ten the character can move and attack. Ten their activation
    ends, and it’s time for the next enemy activation.
  • During an activation, a character can make up to one attack
    with each weapon they are holding in their hand slots. 
  • Each class’s Heroic Action is a special limited-
    use ability that can be used during encounters.

Not sure anything else is explained in the rulebook.

 

And at the end, I can't find again where I seen a warrior can move/attack, then switch and use his heroic action in the same turn.

 

We are doing this since we have the game, but maybe it is not the right thing to do ...

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

You can swap weapons between hand and backup slot, before move/attack, as you stated. You can change equipment at Blacksmith Andre.
(Switch = swap?)

The Heroic "Berserk Charge" allows you to move between two attacks, which is otherwise not allowed. Still 

As far as I remember, the rulebook doesn't state anything special about the heroics. So they can be used whenever their describing text allows.

I personally understand it in a way, that the part "When a character starts their activation:" has to be finished. Then you are "during your activation", which is the time when you can use the Berserk Charge heroic. (So before or after the usual move/attack.) Then "end of activation" happens (e.g. resolve Poison token).

Others might interpret, that you can use the heroic (to attack) before the part "When a character starts their activation:" (which allows to swap items). That way it would be possible.

 

Maybe you remember something from the FAQ? They are summarized here: 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, Thinkpositiv said:

 

You can swap weapons between hand and backup slot, before move/attack, as you stated. You can change equipment at Blacksmith Andre.
(Switch = swap?)

The Heroic "Berserk Charge" allows you to move between two attacks, which is otherwise not allowed. Still 

As far as I remember, the rulebook doesn't state anything special about the heroics. So they can be used whenever their describing text allows.

I personally understand it in a way, that the part "When a character starts their activation:" has to be finished. Then you are "during your activation", which is the time when you can use the Berserk Charge heroic. (So before or after the usual move/attack.) Then "end of activation" happens (e.g. resolve Poison token).

Others might interpret, that you can use the heroic (to attack) before the part "When a character starts their activation:" (which allows to swap items). That way it would be possible.

 

Maybe you remember something from the FAQ? They are summarized here: 

 

@ThinkPositiv:

Ok, I get it from this sentence "Others might interpret, that you can use the heroic (to attack) before the part "When a character starts their activation:" (which allows to swap items). That way it would be possible."

Thanks for the FAQ link, I found out where I've seend the Berserk+normal attack usage :

       Berserk Charge

  • Berserk Charge is a move followed by an attack, in the same activation.
  • You could move/attack with one weapon, then Berserk Charge (move one fore free followed by an attack) with a second weapon... but it doesn't override the rule that you can only attack with each weapon once. So you couldn't make a Berserk Charge attack with a weapon you've already used that activation.
  • You could also attack with one weapon, (then move and) then Berserk Charge (move one for free followed by an attack) with a second weapon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello, 

I have managed to play first time this game and I have some questions. 

1. Enemy must move to the closest character, but there is already a character on the node with enemy. How enemy should act? Shoul he move to closest target or should he stay on node with character? How large hollow will act? 

2. During boss fight, boss should move to closest character. Closest character is behild boss. Will boss turn 180 and move to character? 

Thank you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

@TriforceGuardian

You are pushed to a node along the wall (your choice).

Quote

 

During a push, if there are
no available nodes in that arc due to the tile’s wall, the character
can move to any adjacent node touching the wall instead.

 

Also see "Stage 5" on Boss Movement Examples on page 30

Quote

The boss makes its final movement forwards. There is no node
available for the character model to be pushed to, so it is pushed to
an adjacent node along the wall instead.

 

@Darkhoras 

1. It stays on the node. See rules "Enemy Movement":

Quote

When an enemy model is moving towards another model, it will
stop moving when it is on the same node as its target.

2. First, Boss turns towards its target, then moves towards it. See "Boss Movement":

Quote

When a boss moves towards a character, turn the boss so the
centre of its front arc faces an adjacent node that is closer to the
character. 

 

At least that is my understanding.

Bests, Thinkpositiv

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Thinkpositiv said:

 

@Darkhoras 

1. It stays on the node. See rules "Enemy Movement":

Hello,

In this case, Large Hollow (guy who has push with damage on move action and doesn't have any specific attack actions) is stucked and does nothing? He is on the node with closest target and there is no need for move for him. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In adition to my previous post.

Here is a part from rulebook:

image.png.2200b9edd291dc86909ef6d0eb12e1f0.png

This is exact behavior of Large Hollow Soldier. Based on previous statement from @Thinkpositiv he can't move to node if he already contains character on the same node with him. In this case, he can't push anyone and can't inflict damage. 
In next situation his AI become useless and broken:

Scenario 1. LHS (Large Hollow Soldier) and Warrior are on same node

1. Move, LHS doesn't move, because Warrioir alreade closest character

2. No push, because no move

3. No damage. 
Result: LHS stuck and do nothing. 

 

Scenario 2. Same situation, LHS and Warrior are on same node

1. No move, Warrior is closest

2. Push happens. Move 0, there is a character on same node and must be pushed away (push rule, pg 21)

3. No damage from push, because warrior was on the same node as LHS (Enemy Attacks, pg25)

4. Warrior moves back to the same node, to LHS. 

Repeat step 1. 

Result: LHS does push, doesn't damage character and is stuck. 

 

Please correct me and provide information, how enemies will act in scenario if the must move to closes character, but there already is character on the same node with them. 

In LHS example, I see correct behavior is following (in case if there is already character on node with LHS): 

1. Push that character away without damage (rulebook pg25)

2. Move 1 node to closest (rulebook pg24)

3. Push next character and deal 5 dmg to him. 

 

Same with regular hollows. If they have already character on the same node, they MUST move to closest character or they also can be stucked with Knight, who can BLOCK all income dmg while Herald with Agrro token try to pierce them with a spear. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm also moderately confused on how the "Broad Sword" does its stamina costs cause the character to lunge into another node? If so can he attack someone in his node with it and then move to another node? Lastly does this count toward his normal movement and its costs. For example There is a Hollow Solider 2 nodes away, you (Walk) one node closer and then "Lunge" (2 Stamina attack) do you move into his node and hit him for a TOTAL COST of 2 fatigue? AND IF that works does in work the in the reverse fashion of An enemy is 1 node away, you lunge into him (2 Stamina attack) and end in his node and then (Walk) out for 0 stamina costs, or would that then be considered a run?


PS. Sorry for the 20 questions but I just want to make sure I have the nuance down before I try to host a session with my friends.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah sorry, I overlooked one point (p. 21, left side, middle):

Quote

If the Push icon appears on an enemy’s movement, immediately
move each character on that enemy’s node onto an adjacent node
chosen by the players.

This is the first step you do (for a movement with push). Then the large hollow will do its movement (with push).

For the other questions, I need more time to grab the rules and answer, sorry.

Have you read through the FAQ? They summarize quite some important issues that are often overlooked.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/20/2018 at 1:59 AM, TriforceGuardian said:

I'm also moderately confused on how the "Broad Sword" does its stamina costs cause the character to lunge into another node? If so can he attack someone in his node with it and then move to another node? Lastly does this count toward his normal movement and its costs. For example There is a Hollow Solider 2 nodes away, you (Walk) one node closer and then "Lunge" (2 Stamina attack) do you move into his node and hit him for a TOTAL COST of 2 fatigue? AND IF that works does in work the in the reverse fashion of An enemy is 1 node away, you lunge into him (2 Stamina attack) and end in his node and then (Walk) out for 0 stamina costs, or would that then be considered a run?


PS. Sorry for the 20 questions but I just want to make sure I have the nuance down before I try to host a session with my friends.

 

It's been a while since I played, so I don't remember the exact card for Broad Sword.

However, if one of the stamina cost abilities has a Shift move you use it in the order listed for that ability. Meaning if Shift is listed before the attack then you may move before the attack. If the attack is listed first, you may shift after the attack. In either case you can still walk before or after for 0 stamina.

You couldn't attack again in either scenario. The Shift/Attack (or Attack/Shift) is your attack for the round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/19/2018 at 5:01 AM, Darkhoras said:

 

Please correct me and provide information, how enemies will act in scenario if the must move to closes character, but there already is character on the same node with them. 

In LHS example, I see correct behavior is following (in case if there is already character on node with LHS): 

1. Push that character away without damage (rulebook pg25)

2. Move 1 node to closest (rulebook pg24)

3. Push any player character in the new node and deal 5 dmg to him. 

 

Same with regular hollows. If they have already character on the same node, they MUST move to closest character or they also can be stucked with Knight, who can BLOCK all income dmg while Herald with Agrro token try to pierce them with a spear. 

I'm not sure what all you're asking. The part I bolded is the correct way to handle LHS (with a slight edit on line 3), or any enemy that has Push Movement, including bosses.

First thing that happens when the enemy activates is every player model on that node gets pushed. The enemy then resolves the rest of its turn as normal.

If the enemy only has normal movement (not Push Movement) they will not move if they are already on the node with a target, they will just attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×