Jump to content
  • Announcements

    • Mako

      Union in Chains Pictures   10/14/2017

      With union in chains in full swing, everyone wants to upload a few pictures with their battle report (they're highly recommended to ensure your report is accepted as valid). Check the Union in Chains section for some handy advice (and user avatars) before you start!  

Recommended Posts

 

11 hours ago, Ragnara said:

When you push an enemy, you decide on which adjacent node farther away from you he's getting pushed to.

 

And the assassin...it's like a..."He already did that" kind of move. You roll for dodge, if you succeed you can activate the ability and basically retroactively decide that your assassin stabbed the enemy right before he left the node.

He still has to be in range though. So if you evade the attack of a sentinel from one node away while wielding a 0 range weapon, you can't hit him with this attack. Not even if you move into his node, I'd say, because you execute the attack before dodging.

With addition of red part, all correct if you ask me! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Replect said:

 

With addition of red part, all correct if you ask me! :)

I just noticed I've been doing my research out of the old version of the rulebook the whole time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there, I'm sorry if I happened to miss this, but I looked through the whole thread and didn't see any mention of range on enemies with bows and polearms.

On page 23 of the rulebook, it explains the Shaft icon under Character Activation as "Bows and polearms are difficult to use effectively at short range. Weapons with the Shaft icon cannot be used against targets at Range 0."

Does this also apply to enemies and bosses with these kinds of weapons? I've been operating under the assumption that it does, especially since the example weapon right next to the above explanation is the Dragonslayer Spear, but I would really appreciate a clarification.

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Lasor said:

Hi there, I'm sorry if I happened to miss this, but I looked through the whole thread and didn't see any mention of range on enemies with bows and polearms.

On page 23 of the rulebook, it explains the Shaft icon under Character Activation as "Bows and polearms are difficult to use effectively at short range. Weapons with the Shaft icon cannot be used against targets at Range 0."

Does this also apply to enemies and bosses with these kinds of weapons? I've been operating under the assumption that it does, especially since the example weapon right next to the above explanation is the Dragonslayer Spear, but I would really appreciate a clarification.

Thanks!

I don't think it does! But I'm not sure, honestly. I think the icon would need to be on the enemy attack

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, Archangel said:

I don't think it does! But I'm not sure, honestly. I think the icon would need to be on the enemy attack

Yeah, that icon exists specifically to point out attacks that can't be used at range 0. So if the icon doesn't appear then a range 0 attack is okay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
41 minutes ago, Ashraam said:

Yeah, that icon exists specifically to point out attacks that can't be used at range 0. So if the icon doesn't appear then a range 0 attack is okay.

I'd like to understand the reason behind this. Why wouldn't enemies have this same restriction?

I can't really speak to specific boss attacks having this as I haven't done much boss fighting, but it doesn't exactly seem balanced that a Sentinel can attack with a halberd at range 0, but a player can't. I understand that enemies are controlled by behaviour cards and not players, but they have the same action limitations as the players.

If I remember correctly from the video games, enemies with lootable weapons had the same moveset for that weapon as players did, so the above restriction doesn't seem to translate properly either.

Although now that I write that, perhaps giving players an increased moveset but restricting range, while giving enemies a limited moveset but increased range is their way of balancing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Lasor said:

I'd like to understand the reason behind this. Why wouldn't enemies have this same restriction?

I can't really speak to specific boss attacks having this as I haven't done much boss fighting, but it doesn't exactly seem balanced that a Sentinel can attack with a halberd at range 0, but a player can't. I understand that enemies are controlled by behaviour cards and not players, but they have the same action limitations as the players.

If I remember correctly from the video games, enemies with lootable weapons had the same moveset for that weapon as players did, so the above restriction doesn't seem to translate properly either.

Although now that I write that, perhaps giving players an increased moveset but restricting range, while giving enemies a limited moveset but increased range is their way of balancing?

Because it would be super cheesable if that were the case with enemies, I suppose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Lasor said:

I'd like to understand the reason behind this. Why wouldn't enemies have this same restriction?

I can't really speak to specific boss attacks having this as I haven't done much boss fighting, but it doesn't exactly seem balanced that a Sentinel can attack with a halberd at range 0, but a player can't. I understand that enemies are controlled by behaviour cards and not players, but they have the same action limitations as the players.

If I remember correctly from the video games, enemies with lootable weapons had the same moveset for that weapon as players did, so the above restriction doesn't seem to translate properly either.

Although now that I write that, perhaps giving players an increased moveset but restricting range, while giving enemies a limited moveset but increased range is their way of balancing?

I get where you're coming from, but there's only so much they can do with board game AI on a single card. If they were controlled by a person, or perhaps had more intricate move sets then I think what you're saying could be the case. However, they can only restrict the enemies so much before they become "cheesable" as Archangel says.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Lasor said:

I'd like to understand the reason behind this. Why wouldn't enemies have this same restriction?

I can't really speak to specific boss attacks having this as I haven't done much boss fighting, but it doesn't exactly seem balanced that a Sentinel can attack with a halberd at range 0, but a player can't. I understand that enemies are controlled by behaviour cards and not players, but they have the same action limitations as the players.

If I remember correctly from the video games, enemies with lootable weapons had the same moveset for that weapon as players did, so the above restriction doesn't seem to translate properly either.

Although now that I write that, perhaps giving players an increased moveset but restricting range, while giving enemies a limited moveset but increased range is their way of balancing?

Sentinels can also smash your face in with their shields, or do a swiping attack, so there's that. And silver knight archers also come equipped with swords in the game, so just imagine as long as you're close to them, they use their swords to whack you. Wouldn't even be surprised if they just started to stab you to death with the arrows in close combat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As stated, enemies can always attack at range 0 basically. And the Sentinel actually would never run into the situation where he attacks with you on it's node, since it pushes before it attacks (and If I remember correctly the items/upgrades that resullt in you being immune to pushes is only related to attacks, isn't it?). Anyway, as long as you don't find that shaft icon on an enemy card, the enemy will be able to attack at range 0, which currently means: All enemies can attack at range 0.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/9/2017 at 0:11 PM, Replect said:

"When a character chooses to dodge while on a boss’s node, they can ignore the normal rules for boss arcs and instead move to any arc or onto any adjacent node."

Dodging onto the boss's node needs me to stay in the same arc or same as above when on the boss's node? Just wondering if it really just works in one direction...

Was this question ever clarified?  If dodging into a boss from an outside node, can the character choose which arc it lands in?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, YrNotYrKhakis said:

Was this question ever clarified?  If dodging into a boss from an outside node, can the character choose which arc it lands in?

Yes, I haven't been surprised... This was the official response:

"It works the way it says it does in the rules.

When you roll towards a boss, you reach the boss from the direction you rolled from. When you're already under the boss's feet, you have more tactical flexibility of what direction to roll."

 

So, no, dodging only gives you that freedom if you dodge while being on the boss's node...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/5/2017 at 11:42 AM, Replect said:

If I attack an enemy with a bleed token on it, while my attack beside a dice attack adds bleed. The bleed token on the enemy will trigger assuming I make any damage, it will be removed and then after that the bleed on my weapon triggers, so I can place the bleed token again right away, correct?

 

On 5/5/2017 at 1:10 PM, DC said:

Correct.

So to clarify, if I attack an enemy with my Blood Gem'd weapon on each of my activations (say it's a solo run for simplicity), the bleed will resolve each turn (as opposed to every other turn)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, scifidownbeat said:

 

So to clarify, if I attack an enemy with my Blood Gem'd weapon on each of my activations (say it's a solo run for simplicity), the bleed will resolve each turn (as opposed to every other turn)?

Bleed resolves immediately if they take damage while they have a Bleed token. So assuming you deal damage each turn, you'll trigger the Bleed, which removes the token and deals the extra damage, then your weapon reapplies the Bleed so it'll be there again the next time the enemy is damaged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Basically, the first time you attack an enemy, bleed won't trigger, since it's the moment you apply bleed the first time. Every following Blood Gem'd weapon attack that makes at least 1 damage, means the previously applied bleed token will trigger and you'll apply bleed again right after that... And so on...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

first thank you for the very good rules. Precise and well explained - i've read worse in other released boardgames. Even the german translation is very good, we haven't encountered any translation mistake   ; )

But I have some questions.

1.
Is it allowed to split the group?

2.
Assume there are two possible doors for the group to enter the next room.
Which order is correct?
2a) Choose the door through which to enter the room. Place the encouter. Place characters on entry nodes (aligned with the tile the party moved from).
2b) Place the encouter. Choose the door through which to enter the room. Place characters on entry nodes (aligned with the tile the party moved from).

I assume 2a) is correct but haven't found a clear statement. On the other hand 2b) offers more options and I've seen it in 1 or 2 videos.

3.
The second behaviour icon of Smough on the Hammer Smash card (Ornstein & Smough base) confuses me.
It is: Attack (5) the nearest character, but there is *also* an arc diagram, which has an attack arc (to the front and a weak arc to back). See attached.
Imho either it would make sense if this attack does not face the nearest, but the usual Area icon. Or the arc diagram should just show the weak arc (not the attack arc).

Please shed some light on this   : )

Thanks and bests!

Hammer Smash.PNG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Thinkpositiv,

1. I think it is not allowed, but can make a good house rule !

2. Encounter card have to be put face down on tiles, right after tiles have been chosen. So these questions have no reasons.

3. Attack the nearest inside the arc ? I don't know ...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Thinkpositiv said:

Hi,

first thank you for the very good rules. Precise and well explained - i've read worse in other released boardgames. Even the german translation is very good, we haven't encountered any translation mistake   ; )

But I have some questions.

1.
Is it allowed to split the group?

2.
Assume there are two possible doors for the group to enter the next room.
Which order is correct?
2a) Choose the door through which to enter the room. Place the encouter. Place characters on entry nodes (aligned with the tile the party moved from).
2b) Place the encouter. Choose the door through which to enter the room. Place characters on entry nodes (aligned with the tile the party moved from).

I assume 2a) is correct but haven't found a clear statement. On the other hand 2b) offers more options and I've seen it in 1 or 2 videos.

3.
The second behaviour icon of Smough on the Hammer Smash card (Ornstein & Smough base) confuses me.
It is: Attack (5) the nearest character, but there is *also* an arc diagram, which has an attack arc (to the front and a weak arc to back). See attached.
Imho either it would make sense if this attack does not face the nearest, but the usual Area icon. Or the arc diagram should just show the weak arc (not the attack arc).

Please shed some light on this   : )

Thanks and bests!

Hammer Smash.PNG

1. You cannot split the group. Everyone moves as a group from encounter to encounter.

2. You're correct that this hasn't been specifically clarified (that I have seen) but I lean towards 2a being the correct version. Encounter cards aren't revealed until you enter the encounter, so I don't see how 2b could occur.

3. There's been a little bit of debate on this one, and we never got an official response. Some people think the card is a misprint. If it's NOT a misprint I would interpret the second portion as: An attack targeting the Nearest Player that only hits if the target is in the front Arc and range 1 or less. Other players are not hit because it's not an area attack.

In my opinion this attack has an incredibly low chance of hitting unless it's a 4-player game and people are spread all around near the boss before it happens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that Hammer Smash just attacks nearest and the front face is armored.  The attack arcs icon isn't there, so facing doesn't matter for acquiring targets just like most target nearest attacks.  I don't understand what people find ambiguous.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, MechMage said:

I think that Hammer Smash just attacks nearest and the front face is armored.  The attack arcs icon isn't there, so facing doesn't matter for acquiring targets just like most target nearest attacks.  I don't understand what people find ambiguous.

The ambiguous part is targeted attacks don't usually have an arc attack diagram, just a weak spot diagram. Also, arc attacks usually attack an area/node.

Since "armored" isn't one of the arc diagram functions this card is obviously trying to do something different from a standard targeted attack.  :)   (Black arcs are the closest thing to armored, but they're just normal arcs. None of them actually add to the boss' base resistance.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So for this attack, boss does this ?

 - pushes everything in front of him

 - moves 1 node left

 - pushes everything in front of him

 - attack 1 character in front of him for 5
A kind of dodge ... but will miss often character !

Edit: it should be nice to get a detailed explanation of all cards, or at least a representative set of chards.
SFG explained 1 card in the rulebook, but I found it is not enough.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, MechMage said:

@Ashraam I thought attacking a green arch was -1 black die.  Have I been playing that wrong?

Yeah, those just indicate which Arc the boss is attacking in. The Arc with the indent (I think it's red, but I'm colorblind) indicates a weak Arc, so +1 Black Die, but there's no armored Arc.

It would make an interesting house rule though!  :)

33 minutes ago, Arcueid said:

So for this attack, boss does this ?

 - pushes everything in front of him

 - moves 1 node left

 - pushes everything in front of him

 - attack 1 character in front of him for 5
A kind of dodge ... but will miss often character !

Edit: it should be nice to get a detailed explanation of all cards, or at least a representative set of chards.
SFG explained 1 card in the rulebook, but I found it is not enough.

You're pretty close!

  • Boss pushes everyone that is on his Node.
  • Boss moves 1 Node left, pushing everyone that is on that Node.
  • Boss attacks 1 character (the Nearest) in front of him for 5.

And yeah, I think it's meant to work like a sidestep attack but I feel like it will miss quite often.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
38 minutes ago, Ashraam said:

You're pretty close!

  • Boss pushes everyone that is on his Node.
  • Boss moves 1 Node left, pushing everyone that is on that Node.
  • Boss attacks 1 character (the Nearest) in front of him for 5.

And yeah, I think it's meant to work like a sidestep attack but I feel like it will miss quite often.

If so it cannot attack any player, since range is 0 (I guess ?), and any character on his node has been pushed before attack.

It would be ore efficient to attack first, and push after, so it gives boss attack and evasion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Arcueid said:

If so it cannot attack any player, since range is 0 (I guess ?), and any character on his node has been pushed before attack.

It would be ore efficient to attack first, and push after, so it gives boss attack and evasion.

Hammer Smash can attack an adjecent node.  That's what the 1 in the lower left corner of the card means.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×