Penguin Warrior

Relearning Shark

So way back when, I started playing Guild Ball with the Fishermen led by Shark. Since then, I've bought three other teams (Butchers, Hunters, Morticians) and played mostly Corsair when I run Fish. However, I recently decided to revisit Shark (this partly motivated by a move to Poland which demanded that I downsize the number of minis I keep with me). This has met with some mixed results.

My first game was against Ballista Engineers and I ran Shark, Salt, Sakana, Siren, Greyscales, and Snakeskin. It was not pretty. Ballista, Salvo, and Colossus just had too much control and my team was never able to gain any traction. Sakana was particularly useless as his average defense could protect him from the many ways the Engineers had to knock people down. In addition, my lack of any knock downs outside of Shark and any damage whatsoever made it easy for my opponent to dictate play without worrying about my response. Props to my opponent for playing a great game.

After the move, I played my first game ever against Butchers, in this case run by Ox. My team was Shark, Salt, Jac, Angel, Kraken, and Siren. This game was crazy close, with the Butchers opening up an early 6-0 lead but the Fish managing to roar back with three goals to take the game 12-10. Kraken went down very quickly at first but ended up being huge, tying up Brisket and Shank for the back half of the game. Meanwhile, Jac pulled off some heroics (haha I hate myself) and scored the final two goals after Angel banged in the first one. Even though I manged to win this game, I still didn't feel very good with Shark. I screwed up my deployment, overextended Kraken early and really only won because of some mistakes by my opponent. This game did remind me that Season 3 Salt is going to be huge.