C.Hurst

Question from an absolute beginner

As the title says, I am an absolute beginner in the world of miniature gaming. I backed the Dark Souls board game because "Oh, hey, Dark Souls", from there looked into other games Steamforged had made, decided Guild Ball looked pretty cool, and bought a few teams.

I am such an absolute newcomer to this world that up until about 3 months ago, I was wondering why Steamforged kept releasing renders of the Dark Souls minis without the details filled in. I honestly thought the one or two Warhammer 40k sets I've seen over the years came from Games Workshop fully painted. 

I say all of that to say, please don't assume I know anything. I've done a fair amount of research on YouTube and the like, but there are still a few points I'm curious on when it comes to prepping these metal Guild Ball minis.

I've tried to prepare my Alchemists for priming, by washing them as discussed here: http://www.how-to-paint-miniatures.com/miniature_painting_getting_started.html My main problem comes with the sentence: "Metal miniatures often shine after removing release agent:" There is, without a doubt, less white on the figure after my scrubbing it. And there are, indeed, details that pop more than they did before the scrub, but SHINE? They certainly don't do that. Maybe a few of the edges have a glint to them, but that's about it.

So, what is the mistake I'm making? Do I need to scrub more, until they shine? Am I misreading the article, by assuming the author means "Certain surfaces of your miniature will have a mirror-like reflective surface"? Is this even an important step any longer, as I've read on other sites that modern release agents don't need to be taken off before priming/painting?

Thank you for any and all help!

I've never seen anything that I would call "shine" after washing the mold release off of minis. The models are dull because of the casting method, not because they're covered in a release compound.