Commander Vimes

Thoughts on Scalpel after playtime?

Hey Spooks,

now, after some time has passed after released, I hope to get a discussion going on Scalpel. What are your thoughts on her now in comparison to your initial gut reaction? Have you played her, or played against her?

I know that many people "badmouthed" her after release. I have been playing her reularly since then and am really enjoying myself. I find her very strong in MOM generation, and her hit and run style can lead to some crazy angles. However, the most limiting factor is her 1" reach IMO.

I have played my Hunters into her twice. Now I'm still pretty new to the game and I only played against Obulus once, so the comparison might not hold up to closer scrutiny. She seems to be a pretty versatile captain, though.

Against Hunters, her melee range is not a huge issue. Sure, greater reach would be better but at least I can hardly engage her without her being able to strike back.

Her legendary makes gauging her charge ranges really hard. She can effectively engage people behind woods or corners, or just over a pretty huge range.

Second Wind makes the Morts very dodgy which can be a pain in the ass.

All in all, I found Obulus to be more frustrating to play against but not really harder to play against. In my last game, Scalpel (together with Graves) killed Theron twice. She certainly pulled her weight.

I've still only played as her once and against her once but in both games she was extremely mobile and annoying.

My main use of Obulus is moving the opponent closer, a role she filled well but with the added bonus of a stack of MP with it. I think a fair cost for the loss of Puppet Masters greater range of uses.