flaming_ewoks

New Player- General Fisherman Tips?

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to this game, having played maybe three games so far, and I feel like there is a lot that I'm missing as far as gameplay style goes, good tactics I should be using, etc. Any tips for a new Fisherman to help him up his game?

early days you'll probably be sticking to the main guild models (ie. no Union) I am assuming so I'll give you some of my own perspective ... guarantee others will have different thoughts though :)

Fishermen excel at the football game.  Fast movement, dodging out of melee and for board position, and higher than average kick stats across the team - use these to your advantage.  3 goals is the fastest way to a win but 2 goals and 2 takeouts is probably more reliable .... nothing worse than missing your winning goal only to be wiped out by heavy damage teams

Retrieving and passing the ball between players is a great way to generate momentum or improve your board position.  Following a successful pass you may either a) have the kicking player dodge 4" or b ) the receiving player dodge 4" at the cost of 1 Momentum (which you just got from the successful pass).   Alternately you can just hang on to the momentum.

Shark, Sakana and Greyscales all have a momentous 1" dodge on playbook column 1.  This is very handy for generating momentum and improving board position prior to going for a goal or stockpiling momentum to win the initiative in the next turn.

Shark is a machine .... if you win initiative then most of the time, with a full stack of influence he is in a position to go for goal or retrieve the ball ... and go for goal.

Turn 1 goals are a thing with Fishermen.  Shark has a 23" goal threat and Angel has 18" .. these are generally your go to selections if you want to score early.  I personally like Shark in this instance but Angel has her good points (high DEF, more dice on the kick etc)