Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'parting blow'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Calendars

  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Europe
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • Rest of World

Forums

  • Steamforged Games Forums
    • New Members & Introductions
    • Steamforged Previews
  • Dark Souls
    • Dark Souls Discussion
    • Dark Souls Rules Questions
  • Resident Evil 2
    • Resident Evil 2 Discussion
  • Guild Ball
    • Guild Ball Discussion
    • Guild Team Discussion
    • Guild Ball Events
    • Guild Ball Rules Clarifications
    • Vassal Module
  • Painting & Hobby
    • The Display Cabinet
    • Trading Post
    • Tales of Infamy
  • Releases & Announcements
  • Feedback & Questions
  • Closed Topics

Found 12 results

  1. The core rulebook pg 36 under Parting Blow says the following: "A Parting Blow cannot cause a Reposition or trigger a Character Play." On pg 13 it also says the following: "When a model or marker is placed, it has not made an Advance or Reposition, and it is not considered to have moved." Veteran Hearne's Lunar Eclipse character trait reads as follows: "When this model damages an enemy model that is suffering the snared condition with a Playbook damage result this model may be placed within [1"] of the enemy model." In short, direct placement is not a Reposition, and therefore it is not forbidden by the Parting Blow rules. Meaning that if Veteran Hearne makes a Parting Blow against a snared model then Veteran Hearne may use his Lunar Eclipse rule to teleport. Is this intended? It follows the letter of the rules, but it certainly doesn't seem to follow the spirit of the rules.
  2. Can a model take multiple parting blows against the same model if the trigger (leaving melee) happens twice? Example: Spigot leaves Salt's melee range (first trigger; Salt deals 1 damage), retrieves the ball, and then heads past Salt through Salt's melee zone again(potential trigger; Salt would take a tackle) on his way down to the goal.
  3. Wrecker

    Is my understanding correct? It seems to me that the 2" push is not quite enough to keep the little guy going for all of his roll without very careful planning. Unless the players you hit only have a 1" reach he is going to be knocked down by any self respecting brewer, (& Fangtooth) as he leaves the first melee zone. This assumes a rolling Armadillo can be KD'ed. Bill
  4. My last thread was prematurely closed without having the question properly addressed, so I am restarting it here. Here's my original post: Can you counter-attack a parting blow? The Counter-attack rules states, "After an Attack or Charge is declared, the target model can respond by spending [1] MP to declare a Counter-Attack. After the active model resolves their Attack, the target model may then make an Attack against the origin model, if able." The Parting Blow rules states, "A Parting Blow is an Attack, which does not cost Influence, triggered and resolved immediately at the point the active model leaves the melee zone or LOS of the enemy model." meaning that a parting blow is an attack and therefore you could counter-attack it. I see no rules anywhere that forbids counter-attacking a parting blow. Of course, the model doing a counter-attack would need to outrange the parting blow model, due to the range. E.g., the 1" reach model makes a parting blow on a 2" reach model, at that moment the two models are just over 1" away so the 2" reach model could counterattack it. It's definitely a degenerate concept, and makes taking parting blows seriously dangerous, but I don't see anything that expressly forbids it and plenty of reason to think it would be a legal move. TheLieutenant wrote: This is correct. Declaration of a Parting Blow is separate to declaration of another type of Attack. The problem with this is that the Parting Blows rules state that a Parting Blow is an attack. It doesn't state that it allows an attack, it states that it IS an attack. Therefore, by the property of transmissivity, declaring a Parting Blow is declaring an Attack. There's no ifs, ands or buts here -- any ruling that ignores this ignores the rules of the game as written. The are only two ways around this that I see -- to state that the Guild Ball rules don't follow the rules of logic, which is a rabbit hole you don't want to go down, or to state that it is the act of declaring a regular attack during the model's activation (e.g. 'buying an attack') which allows the trigger of a counter-attack. The problem with that latter statement is that, for one, that isn't specified or stated anywhere in the Guild Ball rules, and for two, it means that one cannot counter-attack any attack that doesn't originate from the act of 'buying an attack' on a models activation e.g. Veteran Rage's Red Fury induced attacks are not counter-attackable under this ruling, nor are many other things. So, as it stands, depending on how you interpret TheLieutenant's ruling, it either blatantly ignores the rules of the game as written or it creates a new unspoken rule that causes unintended consequences elsewhere in the ruleset. Neither of these are satisfactory answers, and thus I created a new thread. Now, I'm not arguing that the game should be like this. I think this was just an oversight, and that rules-as-intended one should not be able to counter-attack a parting blow. But when I made the first thread I believed I had found a rules-as-written way to make it happen, and given that the best response that could be arrived at is one that the rules themselves contradict I am now completely certain that rules-as-written this is legal. My point here is just to point out that hey, you missed something, and the answer is pretty simple -- just errata the line "A model may not declare a Counter-Attack against a Counter-Attack." to "A model may not declare a Counter-Attack against a Counter-Attack or a Parting Blow." Counter-attack doesn't need to get needlessly restricted, you don't have to redefine what 'declaring an attack' is (or define at all, really, as it is undefined at the moment).
  5. Can you counter-attack a parting blow? The Counter-attack rules states, "After an Attack or Charge is declared, the target model can respond by spending [1] MP to declare a Counter-Attack. After the active model resolves their Attack, the target model may then make an Attack against the origin model, if able." The Parting Blow rules states, "A Parting Blow is an Attack, which does not cost Influence, triggered and resolved immediately at the point the active model leaves the melee zone or LOS of the enemy model." meaning that a parting blow is an attack and therefore you could counter-attack it. I see no rules anywhere that forbids counter-attacking a parting blow. Of course, the model doing a counter-attack would need to outrange the parting blow model, due to the range. E.g., the 1" reach model makes a parting blow on a 2" reach model, at that moment the two models are just over 1" away so the 2" reach model could counterattack it. It's definitely a degenerate concept, and makes taking parting blows seriously dangerous, but I don't see anything that expressly forbids it and plenty of reason to think it would be a legal move.
  6. So Tulsy and I have been discussing doing things for some time. We are excited about GB enough to actually get off out asses and do things. Right now we are just trying to figure out how this blogging thing works. We hope to do podcasts and videos down the road. We have lots of cool ideas and many irrational opinions, so why wouldn't we assume others may care. Right now it is just intros and stuff. I have a few hobby write ups I hope to make while avoiding my family this weekend. We are also working on some battle reports for an idea that should lead up to our first podcast. The fact that we are actively trying to promote and build our local GB community should hopefully lead to interesting discussion... or we could just use this as an excuse to get drunk and piss on each other in public. Either way, we will post updates here. oh yeah... https://partingblow.wordpress.com/
  7. What happens if a player triggers a parting blow during their Icy Sponge phase jog? Is the player making the parting blow able to generate MOM if they kill the model?
  8. This came up in a game that I couldn't in effect ever leave Egrets engagement range, and she can get almost infinite attacks if I try. Parting Blow says Parting Blow When performing an Advance, if an active model leaves the melee zone or LOS of an enemy model it is engaged by, that enemy model may immediately make a Parting Blow against the active model. A model may suffer multiple Parting Blows if leaving multiple melee zones and/or LOS. A Parting Blow is an Attack, which does not cost Influence, triggered and resolved immediately at the point the active model leaves the melee zone or LOS of the enemy model. A Parting Blow Attack gains [+2] TAC. A model making a Parting Blow does not receive the Ganging Up or Crowding Out modifiers. A Parting Blow cannot generate MP from momentous Playbook results. A Parting Blow cannot cause a Reposition or trigger a Character Play. After a Parting Blow is resolved the active model may continue its Advance if able to do so. Which all seems fine, you can't generate movement of a parting blow attack. But Swift Strikes says Swift Strikes This model may make a [1”] Dodge after causing damage to one or more enemy models. So as I understand it, the parting blows won't stop a character trait moving a model. So After Egret attacks, as long as she causes damage, she is allowed to make a 1" dodge. Which can put her just engaging me again, so as I move another fraction forward, I leave her melee zone and she gets to make another parting blow, which, if it causes damage, pushes her again. Were we right, and its just never worth trying to advance out of Egret melee zone? Or Have I missed something?
  9. TheLieutenant on scything blow "The melee zone of a model extends outwards from the model's base, a model is never in its own melee zone." Rulebook p47 "When performing an Advance action, if an active model leaves the melee zone of an enemy model it is engaged by, that enemy model may immediately make a Parting Blow against the active model" This could lead to some unusual circumstances for Dirge (I think Bonesaw avoids it as nobody has a larger base in the game at present so he'd never be fully out of contact with the edge of their base at any point) where he(it) would take a parting blow when flying over the top of a larger based model as would take a parting blow while over the base (as MZ extends outwards from the base by extension it doesn't cover inside the base). You've future proofed against the worst abuse this could result in of taking 2 parting blows as that's expressly forbidden in the rules. Rulebook p47 "A model may only make a single parting blow against the same active model." But it could lead to someone looking to fly over and land inside the melee zone thinking they're not triggering a Parting Blow but they have done by going inside the space of the base. A further interesting interpretation is of what is the point of least disturbance for placing the model if they were KD as would probably be placed back in front (entry point of flight path) rather than behind to have ended closest to where they should have been placed on the ground at the point of the Parting Blow. Can parting blows be triggered by being fully inside the space of a players base?
  10. I searched the forum but couldn't find reference to this: Mist was trying to score from downtown, and the only way to do so was to move through Shark's melee zone and take a parting blow, risking the tackle. Shark easily tackled the ball, and Mist played "Protect Your Balls". Not knowing the exact ruling we just let it happen, Mist took the ball, scored, etc. My question is what happens in this situation? The parting blow triggers as Mist leaves Shark's melee zone, and as such it's possible to interpret that in this case he would no longer be engaging Shark in order to use "Protect Your Balls", though he'd obviously be able to continue moving. My question ultimately boils down to "Can you use Protect Your Balls against a parting blow and continue your movement unhindered"? If this has been answered elsewhere and I just missed it please feel free to close this thread. If this is covered by the S2 rules just stomp on my foot three times. Thanks!
  11. Flying states that u can move over intervening models and terrain. That's fine. It doesn't however clarify if it still triggers Parting blows while leaving melee zones. - please can an Admin / Rules boss clarify? I can only assume that without specifically saying otherwise, that Flying and other similar abilities still DO trigger Parting Blows from leaving Melee Zones.
  12. Hi, In the cover rules it says that "An active model targeting a model that is benefiting from Cover with an action, suffers [-1] TAC to that action." and earlier in the rule book it states that "During a model’s activation; if any other model performs an action it temporarily becomes the active model for the duration of that action." Does that mean that you get the cover bonus for parting blows and counter attacks? or am I missing something? Thanks
×