Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'chemical shower'.
Found 2 results
I've been measuring Smoke's Chemical Shower like I do for Calculus or Mercury's plays. Measure 8" to the center, and that's as far as the AOE can be placed. But after re-reading the wording, it seems to indicate that you would measure to the nearest edge instead, effectively giving Smoke 11" of threat with the circles. Here's my logic: The first sentence from her legendary reads: "Position two [3"] AOEs within [8"] of this model." "Within" is defined as: "A model, marker, or template is within a given distance when any part of the base or template is within that given distance, including touching." Also, the section of the rulebook that says you measure to the center of the circle is located in the "Character Play" section, so it wouldn't affect Legendary Plays. Is this correct, or do you measure to the center like all other AOEs?
Smoke's Legendary Play, Chemical Shower: Position two 3" AOEs within 8" of this model. Models within one or more of these AOEs immediately suffer 3 condition-damage. Models entering or ending their activation in either of these ongoing-effect AOEs suffer the poison condition. Tough Hide: Enemy Plays that cause damage to, or Playbook damage results that hit this model are reduced by -1 DMG. Does Tough Hide work on Chemical Shower? I can see it multiple ways. It Works: Tough Hide works on enemy plays. Chemical shower is an enemy play. It Doesn't: Tough Hide doesn't work on conditions. Chemical Shower deals condition-damage. My understanding is that the reason Tough Hide doesn't work is that it is described as triggering on enemy plays or playbook damage results. During the maintenance phase, when conditions do damage, neither of these is occurring. Therefore the model takes full damage. But then why does Chemical Shower specify that it deals condition-damage? As far as I'm aware, there are no "damage types" described anywhere in the rulebook. Damage is just damage. Rules as written, I think that Tough Hide does work on Chemical Shower but with Chemical Shower's wording, I wonder if there is intent to get around the as-written rules. Is there a rule somewhere that I haven't seen in the books that clarifies this?