Jump to content

MechMage

Members
  • Content count

    1,208
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    8

Everything posted by MechMage

  1. It was recently ruled that Decoy doesn't trigger until doing so has an effect. Is this the case for the Confidence character play as well? If the next character play used by the affected model does not roll dice because it either targets a friendly model or is an AoE play that doesn't cover any models, is Confidence consumed?
  2. Fertile Soil + Field of Wheat

    I believe he meant that Fields of Wheat doesn't on it's own create a net increase in the number of harvest markers on the pitch.
  3. kick, advance and glide

    From the season 3 rulebook: Gliding An active model may spend [1] MP to move across rough-ground without penalty for the remainder of the current turn. Gliding is not an action. Since the kick off does not take place during a turn, does a kicking off model gain any benefit from gliding? In a Mob Football format, such as Snake Draft, in which Granite and Ploughman are on the same team, if Granite kicks off and uses Tilled Earth, do the benefits of gliding persist through her Foundation jog?
  4. If vDecimate uses her heroic play Duelist's Advance and then attacks a player benefiting from the Clone character play or the Glutenous Mass trait, can she make a free dodge or does the defensive trigger prevent Duelist's Advance from triggering?
  5. If Jaw-Bone traps are anything like Pin Vice character plays, if a model with reanimate begins an advance within 1" of more than one, the damage from all is applied before reanimate triggers. Any traps triggered at different points on the advance would trigger reanimate separately.
  6. Dead Ploughmen Doubling Plants

    Traits continue to apply even when a model is off the pitch. Otherwise Greede's Ready to Go would have no effect. Fertile Soil similarly continues to apply even when Ploughman is taken-out.
  7. Unsnapping "Directly Away" vs Lure

    Beginning an advance within 1" of a marker is moving within 1" of that marker, even if at no other point of that movement is the active model within 1". In the scenario you describe, it would be legal to snap the ball marker.
  8. The church dudes and dudette

    A&G are indeed breadsticks. They just keep coming and they make everyone salty.
  9. The church dudes and dudette

    One thing Grace does very well is make Mist go super fast. If your list doesn't include Benediction, for example because you want you prefer the extra utility of oHarry over his durability, Grace serves a vital role as support and secondary striker. Including both is a pretty hard sell IMO unless you're in a match up in which you expect to be able to usefully trigger Purity.
  10. In the timing sequences for attacks and character plays, there is an explicate step to check for taken-out as a result of damage. Models that suffer damage during an attack or character play do not suffer the taken-out condition until this step is reached. What about models that take damage not during the resolution of a play or attack? Examples include damage from Traits like Overheat and Cloak of Rats or plays that do delayed damage like Minefield or Alternator. Do models that suffer damage from these effects that reduce them to 0 hit points suffer the taken out condition immediately or is it delayed until some later check?
  11. If Peck only got within 6" of Ploughman after being slowed by the rough ground, would gliding allow him to reclaim the 2" of reduced movement?
  12. I thought I understood how this worked, but I just finished a game in which my opponent and I had opposite interpretations. If Minx ends her activation having caused damage 4" from Pelage and triggers Back to the Shadows to move to within an inch of her, does Grim Caress trigger? Would Second Wind behave differently than Back to the Shadows here?
  13. Checking for Taken Out

    During an attack, the selected playbook results may be resolved in whatever order the attacking player chooses, but no matter what results are chosen, the check for take-out doesn't happen until all of the effects are resolved. There isn't an explicate check for take-out at the end of taking damage outside the resolution of an attack or play but from the previous ruling on simultaneous sources of damage outside of the resolution of a play a check obviously exists. My confusion is if it happens at the end of all simultaneous damaging effects or instead at the end of all simultaneous effects, including those that don't cause damage, and if for the purposes of this check if damage taken during an advance is considered to be simultaneous with the advance. Consider another scenario. Compound Mainspring and Velocity are all within 3" of each other and each only has 1 HP remaining. Compound ends his activation, suffering 2 damage from Alternator and triggering Noxious Death. This causes Mainspring and Velocity to each suffer 3 damage. If the Engineers player chooses to resolve the check for taken-out on Mainspring first, Overheat is triggered, causing another 3 damage to Velocity. This obviously isn't simultaneous because it doesn't happen until Noxious Death is resolved. If the check for taken-out happens first on Mainspring, does Velocity's check for taken-out happen after the resolution of Overheat or before it and then again after it from the damage caused by Overheat? Effectively, does Reanimate save Velocity in the case of an explosive chain reaction?
  14. Checking for Taken Out

    When exactly does the check for taken-out happen if a model is damaged outside of the resolution of a character play or attack? For example, if Mainspring is affected by both Second Wind and Deletion, at the end of it's activation if the Engineer's player chooses to resolve the damage from Deletion first and this reduces to Mainspring to 0 HP, is the check to take it out before Second Wind is resolved since Second Wind doesn't cause damage or after because they're simultaneous effects? If Flask suffers damage from Ballista's Minefield that reduces it to 0 HP, is the check to it out before Flask finishes it's advance or as soon as the damage is triggered? Does it matter whether it was a standard advance or one granted by Second Wind or a similar ability?
  15. Kat 1 and coming back on

    Now that I think about it, Ready to Go only applies when Greede is off the pitch so what I just said is demonstrably false.
  16. Game Plan deck discussion

    Choosing a game plan can be a complex decision based on a lot of incomplete information. IMO it should be on the clock. Possible solutions include the player who had initiative last turn deciding on their clock then passing it to their opponent then revealing simultaneously or starting off the clock and whoever decides first placing their card face down and passing it to their opponent. I suspect it will remain off the clock but if it does there's nothing to stop a player taking five minutes to plan out their entire turn while picking a game plan card and it's only a matter of time until someone does.
  17. Kat 1 and coming back on

    Traits only apply when a model is on the pitch. If Katalyst is off the pitch at the end of the turn, Pyromania doesn't trigger. -edit- Ignore this it's wrong.
  18. Lone striker

    The player who takes the first activation of a turn has initiative. At least that's how it works for Lucky.
  19. Checking for Taken Out

    Are you referring to 6tus's thread? Perhaps I misinterpreted his question but I read it as asking for clarification about simultaneous triggers. The domain of this question is the timing of the taken-out check for damage outside the normal attack or character play sequences. I didn't think it was similar enough to include in the same thread. If the lawyers disagree I won't hold it against them if they lock this and answer both questions in the other thread.
  20. Reading page 32 of the season three rulebook, both the Sequence of an Attack and the Sequence of a Character Play share step 3. Check for taken-out. Is the entire character play sequence resolved when a character play is triggered from a playbook guildball result? Obviously steps 2.1 through 2.3 are skipped since the character play automatically hits and there's no reason to generate a dice pool. Suppose Gutter charges vSiren and spikes, getting 6 net hits. The union player chooses on the wrap and as her playbook results. First the is resolved, triggering the Scything Blow character play. The 3 damage from this play is enough to reduce vSiren to 0 hit points. Does Escaping Fate trigger here at step 3 of the character play's resolution? If so, is vSiren then taken out by the 1 playbook damage which is resolved second at the end of step 3 of the attack sequence?
  21. Who to kick with?

    I'd consider Piper. Haunting Melody seems like a good ability to recover the ball with. It's also an option to kick with Skulk to discourage teamwork dodges comboing into an early goal and use Reverie to launch Bonesaw up the pitch to try for a late goal.
  22. Maverick and Worthy Sacrifice

    Yes. Maverick doesn't prevent oRage from being targeted, only from being affected. In this case, sBrisket would be placed but oRage would not dodge.
  23. How does the farmers errata affect union?

    It will take some experimenting to be sure since Thresher's playbook responds to positive spikes so well. It isn't immediately obvious exactly how much he'll be affected by his playbook change. Based on the analytics I've seen, Thresher will still usually one round vRage with Tooled Up but is considerably less likely to take him out from full in a single activation. That puts him in the same category as Hammer. I suspect it may be possible for a carefully played vRage to outfight Thresher now but it will take some playtesting to be sure. If that is the case, I believe monocaptain vRage Union will once again be viable.
  24. Fire forged

    A character can not gain a condition they are already suffering from, so if burning would be applied to a character with Fire Forged that is already burning, Fire Forged is not triggered.
  25. On a goal shot yes. On a goal kick the ball is not stopped by obstructions. Note that if the ball can't be placed because the kicker is very close to the obstruction, there are some situations where the rule of least disturbance will put it on the other side.
×