Jump to content

Henry

Lawyer's Guild
  • Content Count

    686
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    15

Everything posted by Henry

  1. Season 4 Rulebook, Pg 20: 3. If a TN test isn’t required, then the character play is automatically successful and the target is hit. Character Plays from Character Play playbook results that target a model hit them automatically and trigger any effects that rely upon a hit. (The season 3 ruling for Momentous Inspiration is no longer valid and should be ignored)
  2. Henry

    KDed while charging

    Correctly answered by @speedfreek (and another reminder that I shouldn't answer questions 5 minutes after waking up)
  3. Correctly answered. Reinforced Plating enables one model to ignore damage and effects of the play, but the play itself is not ignored. A play that benefits from Sunstrike has still hit, even if effects and damage are ignored, so momentum is generated. In the case of a play that produces a pulse, or has a range-from-target effect, only the model with Reinforced Plating ignores the effects and damage. All other models are affected as normal.
  4. Usually when I say "off the playbook" I mean from. I can't speak for what the OP meant. In the bit you quoted I said this would be the sequence if the attack was made against a model that does not have Resilience, and how this would affect other models with Resilience that were within the range of the play but we're not the target of the play.
  5. Correctly answered with bonus points for pointing out the timing of the pulse. From the collected clarifications: Run the Length!:- Occurs at the end of the model's activation, alongside other end of activation abilities
  6. Rulebook, Pg 20: c) If the TN test is successful, the target is hit. Apply the effects of the character play. If the model uses an 'S' play on itself, it is the target but isn't an enemy model, so resilience isn't used. If an enemy model targets itself with an 'S' play, the model with resilience isn't the target, so isn't hit and so resilience isn't used. It is possible for an enemy model to attack a model without resilience and pick a Playbook Character Play result. They could use this to target themselves with an 'S' play. This play could have effects upon models within a certain distance (e.g. Ground Pound), but those models are not the targets of the play. As such any of them that have Resilience would not be able to use it to ignore the play as they are not the target.
  7. No. A model is never within its own melee zone (rulebook page 5).
  8. Henry

    Lawyers Guild Authority?

    Hello. The lawyers guild are for the most part fans of the game who, after a little interview process, were selected to help Steamforged with rules calls. You may have seen TheLieutanant around here - that's Bryce. We are in regular contact with Jamie and Bryce when discussing rules calls, but we do it behind the scenes. Our work is overseen by the designers, which you may have seen leading to rules calls being overturned, particularly when rules as written don't match up with the intention of the rule. With regards to being held in high regard as players, I vehemently refute that scandalous remark. I, personally, have been working very hard for many years at being a bloody terrible player of this game, as the many people who have thrashed me will attest! We are: @TheLieutenant(game designer and head lawyer), @TimW, @MilitaryCoo, @LeadDiceandBeers & @Henry We are also available on the Guildball Supporters Facebook group and the Guildball Zone Discord Channel.
  9. Henry

    Lawyers Guild Authority?

    What happened was... A few of us wanted some fancy symbols by our names, so we asked Mako and he said we had to perform the ritual at the shrine of Perkins with a worthy sacrifice of seasonal berries, a half kilo of brie and a small duck* (crackers were optional). After fourty hours of fasting/feasting while reciting all the guildball players' names backwards we ascended to lawyerhood. *The duck wasn't actually sacrificed and is alive and well, living in Dagenham. It does occasionally suffer from a bit of onithological PTSD though.
  10. Henry

    Haunting Conga

    None of the above. At the end of the advance work out what triggers - in this case Rush Keeper and Tag Along. Controlling player decides the order to resolve them - in this case Tag Along then Rush Keeper. The Ratcatcher MAY use Tag Along. Then the Alchemist MAY use Rush Keeper. The decision to use the play (the MAY part) is part of the resolving.
  11. Correctly answered. Also, this is in the rules clarifications: Remote Control:- The kick is made without spending influence. Kick distance and Tap In range are measured from the position of the ball. As a reminder to everyone, there's some really useful stuff in the clarifications. Go and check them out at some point.
  12. Henry

    Haunting Conga

    Rush Keeper is triggered at the end of the enemy model's advance - i.e. the conditions are correct for the effect of the trait to be used. The effects happen when the trait is resolved. The effect in this case is they may declare a charge so the decision to charge and declaration doesn't happen at the point of the trigger, it happens when the effect is resolved.
  13. Henry

    Haunting Conga

    Tag Along and Rush Keeper trigger at the same point - the end of the enemy advance. As they are simultaneous, they are resolved in the order the controlling player chooses. For Rush Keeper, measure the distance to the goal post and to the enemy model at the end of the enemy model's advance (these are part of the trigger). Declare the charge (which includes checking for engagement) when you resolve Rush Keeper. Interestingly in your scenario, Mercury could advance and trigger Tag Along and Rush Keeper, Squeek could then use Tag Along which could potentially also trigger Rush Keeper. Compound would then have to decide if he was charging Squeek, and if not then decide if he was charging Mercury.
  14. Henry

    0"push through a trap.

    Rulebook page 13: A model that moves 0" doesn’t count as moving. No, it doesn't trigger the trap. Rulebook page 25: While a player is in control of another player’s model, that model may not move over obstructions. You cannot push opponent's models over obstructions.
  15. Correctly answered: Overheat only applies during the Activation Phase, not in the Maintenance Phase.
  16. Main rulebook page 12: Condition damage ignores effects that increase or decrease damage dealt. So condition damage is not affected by effects that modify damage (Tough Hide, Tooled Up, etc.) but does affect effects triggered by damage (Loved Creature, Pack Mentality etc.).
  17. Ruling: A model Taken Out in the Maintenance Phase may return to play during the same Maintenance Phase.
  18. The Maintenance is phase is the second phase of the turn (rulebook page 11). As counter charge (and similar abilities) are once per turn they can be used in the maintenance phase. All other normal restrictions apply. The charge from Counter Charge follows all the rules of a charge (rulebook page 13). It is NOT a counter attack and so generates momentum as normal. Players must have their clocks running at all times, except where noted in the Organised Play Document (page 4). The Maintenance phase, and all actions that occur during it, is resolved on the clock. Counter charge is a Once Per Turn trait. As the Maintenance phase is part of the turn, a counter charge during the maintenance phase uses up the Once for that turn. Suspect I know the answer but: Checking... Resolve the return to play for each model completely before moving onto the next.
  19. After scoring a goal, Jackstraw may use Run the Length and The Last Straw and may decide the order they are used in. The timing for choosing a harvest marker is when the active trait is resolved (note that this is different from traits like Cloak of Rates where the pulse is measured from when the trait is triggered).
  20. Henry

    Gliding while Kicking off

    Rulebook: Gliding Once per turn an active model may spend 1 MP to move across rough terrain without penalty for the remainder of the current turn. From the collected clarifications: Once Per Turn:- Does mean Once and it does mean in a Turn. The kick off is not in a turn. You may not using Gliding on the kick off.
  21. Henry

    Empathy

    Rulebook, pg 19: Playbook Damage (DMG) – A playbook damage result reduces the current HP on the target enemy model by the number shown. Damage caused as an effect of a character play is not a playbook damage result. Empathy prevents momentum generation from a playbook result with multiple effects if one of them is a playbook damage result. (i.e., you are correct)
  22. If a receiving model makes a Snapshot, the kicking model may not make a Pass&Move.
  23. For purposes of Line of Sight, an intervening model is any model between the origin and target that the line is drawn over. It is not related to an intervening model as defined on Pg 16. We will take it under consideration if this wording needs changing.
  24. Henry

    Smashing face (Pintpot)

    For Smashing face: Models are not targeted by this play - there is no TN test. Models are not "hit" by this play - models suffer the effects of this play without being "hit".
  25. Henry

    Minerva Nocturnal Hunting

    Correctly answered.
×