Welcome to Steamforged Games Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Sign in to follow this  
mr baron

Snapping the ball

In one of my recent games this situation came up, and I am wondering what the official ruling should be:

Shark had the ball and at the end of his activation, dropped the ball.  Friday activated next and declared a jog advance to get the ball and continue moving forward.  The Shark player then announced his intent to snap the ball back to Shark, after Friday had started moving.  In thinking about this, I think there are 3 possibilities, but I want to understand which one is correct:

1. Shark is allowed to snap the ball prior to Friday picking up the ball

2.  Friday arrives at the ball and then has to make a roll off with Shark to gain possession of the ball as it is contested

3.  Friday is allowed to pick up the ball as Shark had previously dropped the ball and effectively give up rights to the ball.

I am thinking option 2 is correct, but wanted to get the official ruling on this.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 is correct.  The only times a player can snap the ball is when they start their activation, move close enough to snap it or the ball is placed close enough.

An enemy model moving or snapping the ball is not one of those conditions so once Shark unsnaps the ball, he can't do anything to keep Friday from snapping it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correctly answered the relevant rules are:

"A model that starts its activation or moves within [1”] of a freeball may choose to take possession of the ball-marker; the ballmarker will immediately snap to that model.

If the ball-marker is placed within [1”] of a model, that model may choose to take possession of the ball-marker; the ball-marker will immediately snap to that model. If each team has one or more models within [1”]  of the ball-marker when it is placed, then each model may roll [1D6] and add their base-kick to attempt to gain possession. The model with the highest result gains possession. When two or more models have the highest result, re-roll for those models until one model gains possession. The ball-marker cannot snap to until after a scatter is resolved."

A free ball is only competed for at the moment it is placed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to follow up on this, once a model has decided not to snap the ball, they have effectively give up their rights to snap the ball until their activation or until another event happens that causes the ball to be placed within 1" of the model.

Would that be a accurate statement?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nearly.

Either the ball drops 1" away or the model ends a move within 1" of the ball. (It doesn't depend if it starts within 1 or not).

This can happen through out of activation dodges (unpredictal movement for example, or even a counter attack dodge) or a push. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Sonny said:

Nearly.

Either the ball drops 1" away or the model ends a move within 1" of the ball. (It doesn't depend if it starts within 1 or not).

This can happen through out of activation dodges (unpredictal movement for example, or even a counter attack dodge) or a push. 

You don't have to end a move within 1" of the ball. You can snap a ball mid movement when you move within 1" of it. All movement within 1" of a free ball is eligible to snap the ball. 

You can also snap a free ball within 1" of you when your activation starts, or a free ball that is placed within 1" of you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the notes.  For models that are not active, the only way that model can snap the model is if the ball is placed within 1" or the model is subject to a reposition or other out of activation movement that causes the model to within 1" of the ball.  If neither of those conditions apply, the non-active model will not be able to snap the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this