Welcome to Steamforged Games Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Am I the only person who never liked Midas? I have played Alchemists since I started playing when season 2 came out, and all I heard was: "Midas is so good! OMG Midas best captain in the game! He is so great! Why would anyone ever not run Midas forever?!?"

But I never got the hype. He is decent I guess, but I always like the control and synergy of Smoke more than the randomness and influence hogging of Midas. I actually like him a little better now in Season 3 after he lost his terrible power steal ability (which was also over-hyped and never worth the influence cost) and now seems like a point guard to move the ball to Vitriol (but his poor kicking ability is annoying).

What am I missing? I just don't get it...

Back in season 1, the Alchemist team was poorly designed and in a lot of ways the condition game was a trap.  Those who found the most success hardly used it at all and Midas was the player best able to function without it.  A lot of players are still used to that play style even though there are viable alternatives now.