Welcome to Steamforged Games Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

noahsheck

Playing the Brewers

So, I am still fairly new to this game, and (so far) have only ever played using the Engineers.  The other day, as part of our Figo League, I played my first game against the Brewers.  Now, my opponent has a bit more experience than I, and he is a decent margin better at the game than me, which probably partially explains the results, but holy hachi-machi, they just ran right over me.  I darted up field with Velocity and scored, and then the Brewers just beat me my carefully organized Engineer Machine to death - almost literally.  I think one thing I messed up was placing Colossus and Balista fairly close together near the center of the pitch, I often use them as a sort of back-line, letting him make a big mosh-pit with them in the middle.  He just stomped a whole through all my nifty defensive tech.  So, how do others normally deal with games against the Brewers?

So I'm the regular opponent of the brewers player you played and I think i might have some insight into your opponent and into brewers. The first thing you should know is he gets alot of practice against Shark, which is basically like training at 2G for brewers, so don't sweat the experience difference. 

First thing about dismantling the brewers is understanding what each model does for set up, and what they do for follow through.