Welcome to Steamforged Games Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

WASandD

What advice do you have for a tournament newbie?

I'm going to my first Guild Ball tournament tomorrow and it's going to be my first time playing any game competetively.

I have no experience with clocked games and I'm pretty nervous. Does anyone have any advice?

I'm going to be running fish, I have my nine ready but I think I'll go with the six I'm most comfortable with all day.

Fermorfan likes this

Have fun, don't over-think decisions, and see what happens. Rather than go expecting to be crowned victor, go to learn how other players play and see some strategies you might not have been exposed to. Don't be disheartened if you lose. Enjoy winning. You will probably clock out - just learn from the experience to try to speed up those easy early moves and try to think on your opponent's turn, not your own. Always ensure your measurements are as accurate as you can make them (but don't waste too much time on this - just use sticks if you have them) and when rolling dice let your opponent see the results and always, always talk through your actions so that you both know what is going on "Ox attacks Siren, I need 5+'s no armour, I roll 7 dice as TAC 7" etc.

Basically - have fun, talk to people and enjoy it.