Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'kicking'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Europe
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • Rest of World


  • Steamforged Games Forums
    • New Members & Introductions
    • Steamforged Previews
    • The Display Cabinet
    • Trading Post
  • Dark Souls
    • Dark Souls Discussion
    • Dark Souls Rules Questions
  • Guild Ball
    • Guild Ball Discussion
    • Guild Team Discussion
    • Guild Ball Events
    • Guild Ball Rules Clarifications
    • Tales of Infamy
    • Vassal Module
    • Community Event Archive
  • Resident Evil 2
    • Resident Evil 2 Discussion
  • Painting & Hobby
  • Releases & Announcements
  • Feedback & Questions
  • Closed Topics

Found 3 results

  1. Kicking the ball out of bounds

    So for the first time I chose to tactically kick the ball out of bounds with Fish. I had 3 players yet to activate in the middle of the pitch and had gotten all of the other player's models to the sides. I hadn't planned on the strategy but I was up 10-4 with 2 models basically dead and the ball in a scary location near my goal. I kicked it out and the ball scattered exactly where I needed it to get two models to set it up for the win. Excited about the win but later felt kinda dirty about it. I know that it is in the rules and the other guys shouldn't have ceded the middle of the field (he's brand new to the game, maybe 5 or 6 games but first time with this guild) but it still made me wonder if kicking the ball out of bounds in an effort to recover seemed fair. After not really coming to a reasonable moral conclusion I thought I'd ask everyone else for their opinions. Do you guys think the ball scattering from center is the way to play this? Is it still fair in wake of the season of footballers? Would throw ins being resolved from the side they were kicked out on (similar to actual football) be more reasonable? Is a goal kick for the opposing player possibly more fair in an instance that the ball leaves the pitch after a pass a good alternative? Do I need to get over myself and accept that it is a viable strategic option and advantage of it? What do you guys think? EDIT: To clarify before anyone asks I did indeed kick it to a spot on the pitch and let the scatter do the work.
  2. Kicking Sequence 1. After paying applicable costs, the active model declares a target-spot within range of their kick-distance. 2. Generate a dice-pool using the kicking model’s base-kick. • Enemy models engaging the kicking model negatively affect the Kick attempt; suffer [-1] dice-pool per enemy model. • Enemy models, not engaging the kicking model, with any part of their base on the ball-path between the kicking model and the target-spot, count as intervening models and negatively affect the Kick attempt; suffer [-1] dice-pool per intervening enemy model. 3. A Kick attempt is resolved as a [4+] TN test. • If the target-spot is not in LOS of the kicking model then the Kick attempt suffers a [+1] TN modifier. • Enemy models engaging the target model (if applicable) negatively affect the Kick attempt; suffer [+1] TN per enemy model. A scenario arose where a short pass was desired, but both kicker and recipient were engaged by the SAME enemy model. Per Step 2, the kicker (naturally a 4/6" kicker) who is engaged by an enemy would suffer a [-1] to their dice pool. So 3/6" [4+]. In this case, the enemy model was not intervening, but even if they were, we know that they would not have negatively affected the dice pool a second time. So, still 3/6" [4+]. In Step 3, it notes that a kick is resolved at [4+] and can be modified if the target spot is not in LOS. It is also modified if enemy models are engaging the target model - [+1] TN per enemy model. In our case, the kicker had LOS, but the same enemy model that was engaging the kicker is engaging the target model. the rule does not have the same qualifier as Step 2: "Enemy models, not engaging the kicking model,..." So, does the same engaging model affect the kicker and target model? (Resulting in 3/6" [5+]) On a related note, if the enemy model happened to be a larger based model that did block LOS, what is the impact to the TN then? Engaging kicker: [-1] dice pool; intervening (but engaging kicker): [N/A]; target spot not in LOS: [+1] TN ?? (second question); engaging target model: [+1] TN (first question). Which, if all of this is correct, would result in a kick attempt of 3/6" [6+].
  3. when you kick the ball what line does the kick have to follow? i appreciate the ball travels along a 30mm wide path but where does the centre line of the path start and finish, specifically from the point of view of passing or shooting. it doesn't appear to explicitly state what the path of the ball must be in the rules, although the diagrams show that it is centre line of kicker to centre line of target and hence that’s what we've been playing - and what feels like it fits with the intent. Is this correct? There has been discussion within our group as to whether you can alter the line of kick to avoid intervening models but still get to the target model. With that in mind, if its not centre to centre, does the full width of the ball path need to be within the width of the targets base or can you kick such that only the edge of the ball path hits the target, to avoid intervening models. i appreciate you have to kick to the model and cant kick to the 1" snap zone if you want it to be a successful pass. Alternatively can you adjust the line of the kick such that the width of the ball path is within the width of the target base but the line of the kick is not centre to centre. This would be possible when kicking to or from models with a base larger than 30mm and we have encountered this several times, most frequently with shooting on goal. I did a diagram to demonstrate this but cant work out how to get it into the post.