Welcome to Steamforged Games Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Spinsane

Members
  • Content count

    275
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

About Spinsane

  • Rank
    Seasoned Veteran
  • Birthday 03/21/1980

Profile Information

  • Gender Male
  • Location Montreal, Canada
  • Interests Play Mason's and Mortician's
  1. In reference to the following ruling: Considering @TheLieutenant's answers on Bonus questions #1 and #2, it appears that Rising Anger can only trigger once per turn no matter who benefits from it. I'd like to know if this is true only for Rising Anger or if the same applies to other Character Traits (if applicable). Considering the rule on page 13, I would have assumed that the ruling should have been different, no? OPT Plays would be different (and could be used by both players), but is the fact this refers to once per turn actions the reason it doesn't apply to Traits/Rising Anger?
  2. How about a "reverse-roster" selection, instead of preset teams? Works just like the current setup, except you get to select a player the opponent's gonna play, instead of one of your own... "Hmm, if I take both captains, I can't include oHarmony in my roster otherwise opponents will pair her with Hammer and she'll be useless"
  3. I'll make sure this time I can play the game through! No more birthday to ruin my fun!
  4. Ohhh, since my guild's slot is still open... Coach : Spinsane / Mat Guild : Mason's Time Zone : EDT (-4) Honour Marbles Brick Chisel Flint Granite Harmony Mallet Tower
  5. ConsiderIng the ruling linked to below, am I to understand that if Mallet were to wrap on a charge and select, for example, the and results, that he couldn't chose to resolve the DMG first, thus triggering Forceful Blow to burn Stoic, before resolving the Push? (same would apply for Hammer or Tower regarding Knockback, of course)
  6. Pretty sure there's nothing preventing you from applying the DMg result first, triggering Lunar Eclipse and then applying the dodge. The only exception to the 'resolve results in the order of your choice' is i. Regards to DMG modifiers, since those are calculated in Step 2.4, before the playbook results are selected
  7. While I would agree with this interpretation, the only ruling we have regarding placement of scatters in this regards remains ambiguous: It's the last sentence in @TheLieutenant's post that makes it questionable, actually. Is it because the opposing player placed the ball that the team can still generate momentum? In that case, that seem to imply that the opposite situation (I KD an opposing player and the ball scatters behind my line) would result in my no longer being able to generate momentum...
  8. While I can't pretend to be an expert on the Fillet ruling (since I just started playing GB after S3 dropped), I can't help but disagree with your interpretation. The Fillet ruling, or rather the clarification I linked to above, seems* to explains that any single part of a Character Play (or Attack) cannot have an impact on the resolution of other parts of the same Play/Attack, hence why Pain Circle didn't get the +1 dmg because of Bleed. It didn't prevent other traits from being affected, however, which is why Blood Dance could trigger. In this case here, I am Under the impression that the Push cannot affect the resolution of the KD, since both happen simultaneously, even though they are to be resolved in the active player's selected order, simply because one part of the Play's results (the push) shouldn't impact the other (the KD). * That's how I read it, but of course I might be wrong. I just thought my stance hadn't been expressed clearly...
  9. Considering previous rulings on Simultaneous Resolution, I'd be tempted to say that Protect Those Close still applies, but I can't say for sure... In that post @TheLieutenant explains that bonuses to CPs mist have been active at the moment the play takes place, rather than being activated mid-way through resolution. If we were to look at this theorher way round, assuming Staves threw a barrel at a player hoping he's be pushed in range of tower'a aura so as to waste that model's Sturdy*, wouldn't this basically amount to chosing resolution order so as to activate a bonus? (* note: no idea why you'd do that for example, said player has the ball and you don't want it to scatter, just push the player in range for a Tackle) TLDR; If bonuses need to be applicable when the CP is performed rather than when independant results are resolved, shouldn't the same apply to penalties?
  10. Condition damage (except for specific exceptions, like Smoke's Legendary), are not caused by Character Plays or attacks. Loved Creature is not triggered by damage, but rather by damage from an enemy Attack or Play. Same with Though Hide, which works only on Enemy Plays and Playbook damage results. I'm not sure why the Though Hide vs Exsanguinate came to be; I was under the impression that the original Though Hide ruling was just a reminder that it doesn't work during the Maintenance Phase, but apparently not. Considering the previous rulings, is there anything specific you actually are i quiring aboit here, other than questioning the difference between TH & ConditionDamage vs Other plays/traits & ConditionDamage? Edit: Just to clarify; it is my understanding, with no omniscient understanding of the Lawyer's Guild reasonning, that the THvsExsanguinate ruling is simply an artifact of how the previous TH vs CD ruling was worded... TH just doesn't work on any condition damage simply because that's what the ruling said. Or so it seems, anyway.
  11. No need to blame the dice, I was outmatched, plain and simple. I knew when I scored I was giving you the game, I just figured I'd rather at least get the 4 points thegoal would net me... Besides, I blame the lack of sleep; getting up at 5am didn't help
  12. I don't think it's as silly as you think, considering that part of it appears, in a way, in the Collected Clarifications Thread... So yes, Chisel is friendly with herself and therefore does not need to make a TN test to hit herself with Sadism. As for Tower's Defend the Ground, it gets a bit muddier there, but the gist of it has been answered already: a for every other AoE plays, there's no test necessary to actually place the AoE on the table; you just put it wherever you want and it just works. However, the play's effects, if it has any effects on opponents hit by it, still require a TN test. In the case of Tower's Defend the Ground, that's not an issue; the only players that could theoretically be hit are friendly, so no test would be required anyway... For Molotov, the part of the play that refer to enemy players being hit requires a TN. The second part, regarding players moving in or ending their move in the AoE, doesn't...
  13. I think the previous rulings on CP/Attack timing vs Damage modifiers should be applicable here: there's nothing preventing Intensify from triggering, although whether the target has the KD condition or not affects how much damage they suffer (0 vs 2). Previous rulings (see Pain Circle, or Stoker, for examples) have ruled that the condition being applied would not have any effect on any CP's damage, and I think this should still be applicable here. I'll let the Lawyer's answer more precisely, however, since I'm not sure whether or not Intensify's damage on condition is to be seen as a modifier or not...
  14. competition

    My biggest disapointment with this contest is that they didn't do a Easter Esters, and call the holidays "Ester's Fri/Monday"...
  15. Henry's right; you can snap to only at the start of your activation, during a move, or when the ball is placed. In the example above, the model can't Snap to at the beginning of its activation because of KD, didn't move afterwards, and the ball wasn't.placed after his standing up, so no valid Snap to trigger occured.