Jump to content


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Everything posted by Ashraam

  1. Deck misunderstandings

    Seems that way. I tried a solo game with the Assassin last night. It'll take a few more games maybe to figure out a firm strategy, but so far I'm thinking this game is going to be nigh impossible to solo. I also don't really get the point of the Humanity cards, since you can discard a card to draw a new one anyway.
  2. This is definitely an edge case that I haven't encountered. Had it happened at our table, I think I'd initiate another basic Push before the second movement. This would be just like the initial Push, so it couldn't be dodged. Then the boss could continue the rest of his behavior as needed. You wouldn't encounter this issue with standard boss movement, because they always Push everyone off any node they enter, but it's not an attack so it can't be Dodged.
  3. Repeat

    I suspect that text was added to the new cards to clarify the Repeat function. There's never been an official response regarding Repeat, however most people play it such that new targets can't be chosen. (Based on online discussions, anyway.) Here's my reasoning (posted on these forums long ago) for why Repeat works like this: Under Repeat on character equipment it says, "The Repeat icon allows the character to use that entire weapon option the number of times indicated in the circle." Under Character Attacks on page 22 they indicate choosing a target then choosing the weapon option. Since none of the weapon options (that I have seen) include the ability to choose a target, only the attack is repeated. All of that aside, it's your game, so if you don't like that interpretation you're free to play it as you like.
  4. Repeat

    No, they hit the same target, because target selection isn't part of the Repeated behavior. (At least none of the current ones have that.)
  5. I don't have the book in front of me to answer about that specific page. However, when a monster with Push Movement activates, the first thing that happens is all Players are pushed off of its node. This isn't the Move Attack, since the monster hasn't moved yet. It's just an aspect of Push Movement that must be resolved. The Movement Attack only deals damage when the monster ENTERS a node with a player in it.
  6. Got bored and live tweeted a run.

    No worries! It will definitely change the feel of the game. Your initial setup becomes probably the most critical part of the encounter.
  7. Got bored and live tweeted a run.

    Hard to tell for sure from your pictures but did you attack before the enemies? Remember enemies always activate first. (Just in case you missed that.)
  8. Each player has the Aggro token after their turn, not during.
  9. @Deatheux You can do all of the things you just listed. You just have to pay the stamina cost for each, and each attack is treated as a separate roll. So you need to overcome the enemy defense with each roll. However, the question this thread was about is asking if you can use one single-handed weapon but hold it with both hands (like in the video game) to increase the damage. Currently it's not in the rule book, so people are home brewing their own ideas to use it.
  10. Squirtis is correct. It's also worth noting that if you fail the Dodge roll and the attack that hits you has a Push component you'll be pushed from the NEW node, not the starting one.
  11. The Shift is optional. You can't make an attack if you're out of range, (Attacks always require a valid target) however if the Shift occurs before the die roll on the card, you could use the Shift to get into range.
  12. You were correct. The player gets to choose which arc they are pushed to. They just have to choose a node that is still adjacent to the wall. If they were in a corner when this happened they could choose a node adjacent to either wall.
  13. I'm not sure who or what you're referring to here, but you do indeed have to spend souls to level up or purchase items from the Treasure deck.
  14. If you're holding two weapons each attack is treated as a completely separate attack, so you don't combine dice or anything like that. That means you can attack two separate targets, provided they are both in range. Bear in mind you can't move to a new node between these two attacks unless a game ability allows for it, like the Berserk charge or a weapon with a Shift move.
  15. Armor Sets

    I'm not a huge fan of the poses they chose, but at the same time I'm not going to complain about receiving them. I never intended to use them to replace the player model. I figure if someone gets an armor set they just get the relevant cards and can stand the mini next to their dashboard if they like, as a reminder of how it looks.
  16. No apps yet that I'm aware of. For the time being I'd just take a picture of the character boards. You could do the same with the tiles if you still need the layout, I suppose. I guess the Inventory would have to be stored separate from the Treasure deck, but that would make setup easier anyway.
  17. Range on spells?

    The spell cards have the range listed on them, just like ranged weapons do.
  18. Too few orange dice in the core set

    Yeah, you just have to reroll one die and add the results. There's too few of all the dice, in my opinion. I'd buy another set or two of dice in a heartbeat if they ever offered them separate.
  19. No tiles with either set.
  20. Dark Souls card game announced

    It's worth noting the Voucher announcement stated it would be usable for Dark Souls the Board Game related items. They may or may not allow it to be used for the card game. I think I'd seek clarification on that matter if that's the route you're thinking of taking.
  21. Dark Souls card game announced

    Yeah, I'm going to be all over that. I already pledged for everything else, so I was anticipating not adding anything now. So much for that!
  22. The distinction here really only matters when you're being attacked by a boss that's 1 or more nodes away. If you're being pushed by a boss because of movement any adjacent node is, by default, farther away. However, if you're 1 node away and the boss attacks you with an attack that pushes, you cannot choose to move onto the boss' node. You must move farther away from the boss. (Or at least, not move closer in the case that you cannot move farther away.)
  23. Damage doesn't have to occur to inflict a status. However, damage DOES have to occur in order to trigger Bleed after it is applied.
  24. @alxndrhll Someone posted the following picture in the FB group and asked how to resolve the actions: Now, if I interpret this as written I'd do it thus: The boss shifts left without turning, pushing anyone he encounters. Boss then targets Nearest Player without turning, up to Range 1. Boss ALSO hits everyone in the Front Arc up to Range 1. This seems like a very unusual behavior, but not impossible to resolve. However, the question has arisen if this is actually the intended function for this card, or if one or more symbols is a misprint. Any chance for clarification?
  25. Thanks for your input on this! I've been hoping it was a typo as it makes the attack very unlikely to hit otherwise.