Welcome to Steamforged Games Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Megaladon

Members
  • Content count

    30
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. Snapping to kickoff team in formation

    Sorry to belabour the point, but i think it's important to be entirely clear and I'm not sure what you mean by satisfying the requirements of the kick off. According to page 10 of the rulebook, if the ball ends within the kickers side of the pitch, then it can be given to any player on the receiver's side. It being completely within the receiver's side is irrelevant to this rule. As per your above ruling (and others, i.e. on returning to the pitch) a receiving model on the half way line who snaps the ball is within the kickers side of the pitch, and therefore the ball can be given to any player on the receiver's team. Is this correct?
  2. Snapping to kickoff team in formation

    Whoops, misread the post, sorry. I think Siberys is correct. The rules specify the receiver gets the ball if it ends in the kickers side of the pitch "after resolving" the kick-off, which would include any snap-to (since this happens immediately after ball placement). It's based on the final position of the ball, rather than where it lands and the link he posted indicates that in the kicking players possession on her side of the pitch counts as a failed kick. If he wanted to, Colossus could roll of to snap the ball in the situation described in the first post as per this ruling:
  3. Snapping to kickoff team in formation

    The kicker may not snap the ball after resolving the kick-off (ref. page 10 of the s3 rulebook). This still applies to the new deployment rules, which don't reword the actual kick-off, just state (point i) that the kicker performs the kick-off action.
  4. Fair point. I'd say that she remains the controlling player until Brick or Marbles actually make their charges, at which point it switches, she can therefore decide to move Tentacles before or after the counter charge(s). Once she allows her opponent to make a counter charge, the two charges are still happening simultaneously and the opponent is now the controlling player and can choose the order or charge. Once one charge is resolved, control flips back to the first player (there's a split second where no action is being performed by either of player two's counter charging models, therefore control defaults to the player who's activation it is), who can then decide to move Tentacles if she's not done so already, or to force the second counter charge. I think this way of doing it sticks to the definitions on page 13, tho' I'm sure it could be open to argument as it's reasonably unclear at certain points.
  5. As a bit of a follow-up point, assuming both players declare Ooh... Ball! and Snow1 jogs and then snaps the ball, Snow2 would no longer be able to make her jog, as there is no longer free-ball token to move directly towards. This would however use up the once per turn ability for the turn.
  6. You can check out the definition of controling player on pg 13 of the s3 rulebook, basically the controlling player is the one who's activation it is (or who's placing a goal kick) unless the opposing player is performing an action, at which point she becomes the opposing player. So in the case of double Ooh... Ball! the controling player is the one placing the scatter. Once the scatter is placed, both players declare Ooh... Ball! and since the player placing the scatter is still the controlling player at that point, they get to decide which model uses the ability first. Both models definitely don't move simultaneously.
  7. Jac + Siren

    It works great if your opponent doesn't expect it. If they've faced it before or realise what you're doing it becomes much harder to pull off.
  8. Welcome to the game :-) Both happen, so mist hitting his push-dodge allows him to push the opposing model one inch, and dodge one inch himself (you can chose whether to push or to dodge first).
  9. Protect Those Close & Lob Barrel

    You're right, plays can't have an effect on other parts of the same play. However, I believe that the order you apply them can alter the effect of external factors (the dodge in the ruling I linked to, the burning in External Combustion, the kd in the original thread, or even where the ball scatters from in the event of a push/kd or push/TO). Fillet doesn't get the extra damage from Smell Blood either way, because it applies only to Attacks and to Playbook Damage Results. Good find :-) I tried to search for other relevant plays with two effects but the only one I remembered was Pain Circle from last season.
  10. Protect Those Close & Lob Barrel

    I would respectfully disagree here, character plays can have different outcomes depending on the order you resolve them, even if all effects happen "simultaneously." For example see the ruling for s2 Fillet that the bleed from Pain Circle can be applied before the damage, allowing her to make the dodge from Blood Dance even though the damaged model wasn't bleeding before the play. This clearly sets a precedent that the order of resolving character plays *can* alter the outcome of external effects. Character plays can't confer benefits on themselves "internally" (much like playbook wraps) but there's nothing to stop their effects changing based on external factors (i.e. moving a model out of, or into, Tower's aura in this instance). The same thing would presumably apply if I hit a model in melee and managed to get some combination of push/kd, if I pushed him out of the aura first he'd no longer be effected and I could then knock him/her down. The referenced Pain Circle ruling is here, which is presumably still valid, even though the card has changed this season so it no longer applies in the case of Fillet: NB the reason this doesn't benefit Stoker in the ruling you linked above, is that he has to "target" a burning player, rather than "damage" as was the case for Fillet.
  11. Scattering over barrier

    Amusingly, I think you're correct. Nothing in the rules states it stops before the barrier, and rule of least disturbance clearly puts it on the far side, as close as possible to the final position whilst still maintaining contact with the barrier as required. I have never seen anybody play it this way however. It's usually placed on the near-side of the barrier along the ball path, as common sense would imply. Edit: Actually I'm not sure, I guess "along" from "along the ball path" could imply a direction, but it could also just mean "on" the line. Common sense dictates it's directional in this case but I don't think the wording is 100% clear.
  12. What is Corsair's weaknesses?

    This is true, but he has sturdy, tough hide, and is likely surrounded by friends with reach for crowding, so he's a whole lot more difficult to take out than old Sharky who's more often than not sat by himself somewhere near your opponent's goal. I must have played Corsair in well over 100 games and can count the number of times I've lost him on one hand.
  13. Reattach to a knocked down Avarice

    Thanks for the response. Seems the logical solution :-)